Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

    This is a discussion on Finally go live tomorrow what to expect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Evening all My sky unlimited is due to go live tomorrow well i hope so anyway. I have my router ...

    1. #1
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Evening all

      My sky unlimited is due to go live tomorrow well i hope so anyway. I have my router plugged in its the sagem 2304 i think it said. Is there a certain time that it will go live or is it a matter of keep turning on the router until the "@" symbol is lit up on the router?

      I have heard some bad reviews of this router but i want to give it ago for the DLM period just to see how it sets up, my line only supports a max of 3.5mb and before when i was with virgin i did manage to get the full 3.5mb on adsl2+ so i really hope my sky unlimited will run adsl2+. If i was to want to use my old virgin netgear router how do i go about getting my username and password from the sagem?

      Thanks a mill hope you can help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Your profile indicates that you are or were on Sky Connect and that you have a Sagem 2504.

      If you still have the Sagem 2504, then PLEASE LEAVE IT connected.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (12-05-11)

    5. #3
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Hi Scubbie,

      I dont know why it says the dreadful "Connect" under my broadband ISP. I am definatly on unlimited according to my mysky order. I was on the connect package over 3 years ago and left straight away, i can only guess i forgot to change that info

      EDIT

      I have just logged into my router and this is the model and firmware version i am running

      Sagemcom
      Model Number
      F@ST2304
      Firmware Version
      5.12.4a4N
      ADSL Firmware Version
      A2pD030n.d23b

      Is there an general rule of thumb to when the line will go active on activation day Scubbie?

      Thanks again for your help

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      You should go active some time tomorrow. The actual time can be between 0:01am to 11:59pm.

      Most people are activated during normal working hours though.

      If you do have that old Sagem 2504 to hand, I would seriously consider digging it out and using it.

      Until the issues of the Sagem 2304 are resolved, you'd be better off.

      Rather that go into the all again here, take a look at the threads in Sky Router section of this forum.

      A temporary solution is available, should you have any issues.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (12-05-11)

    8. #5
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      cheers Scubbie for your help im really grateful. I have just powered on my router with today being activation day woooo but still nothing as of yet i guess its still early. Also checked out the track my order on mysky and its not saying anything new there either just that the activation date is today

    9. #6
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Hi again,

      I am trying to find where my master socket is located but i cant seem to find it anywhere. My grey bt box is outside my front door and i have 6 sockets in my house in total! I have taken the faceplate off the socket in the hallway which is the nearest socket to the front door i will show them below. As i am due to be connected today i want to make sure im fully up and running via the master. This is a brand new house so dont know if that makes a difference these days to how its wired up.

      Really hope you can help, thanks a million

      Front faceplate


      By craney at 2011-05-12

      Inside socket


      By craney at 2011-05-12

    10. #7
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Do all the sockets in your house look the same? The socket you are looking for should look like this:



      Unless the builders thought it would be cool to put in a non-standard BT Master socket.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (12-05-11)

    12. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      ...Unless the builders thought it would be cool to put in a non-standard BT Master socket.
      The picture is of an NTE5 socket and is described in this page: Sky User - How to test your Master Socket

      Sometimes these aren't used, but one of two other options are:

      * Single socket with the a yellow ring capacitor the size of an AAA battery

      * The ring capacitor could be in the BT box outside

      Take a look at this page and scroll down to 'No NTE5 Master Socket?':

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (12-05-11)

    14. #9
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Thanks guys for that info, i have just taken a pic of the inside of my bt box outside here it is



      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

      Also i have just checked my "mysky" order for my broadband and it says that i am now active, the only thing is i have no "@" light lit up on my router any ideas?

      thanks again

    15. #10
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The picture is of an NTE5 socket and is described in this page: Sky User - How to test your Master Socket

      Sometimes these aren't used, but one of two other options are:

      * Single socket with the a yellow ring capacitor the size of an AAA battery

      * The ring capacitor could be in the BT box outside

      Take a look at this page and scroll down to 'No NTE5 Master Socket?':

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::
      The ring capacitor is in the external NTE. When you have an external NTE in place it's not a requirement to have a standard BT master socket (either nte5 or a line jack) since all the sockets in the house are on your side of the external NTE. However most builders fit a nte5 on the first socket connected to the external NTE so that you have a test socket to connect to if a fault occurs as you can't test the line on the external NTE.

      Hence instead of taking you forward in a new built house some builders are taking you back to the pre nte5 era. What's worse is the way sockets have been done. It would be very hard to put in a nte5 even if you wanted one with a filtered faceplate.

    16. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (12-05-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION