Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

    This is a discussion on Finally go live tomorrow what to expect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by craney13 Thanks guys for that info, i have just taken a pic of the inside of my ...

    1. #11
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      Thanks guys for that info, i have just taken a pic of the inside of my bt box outside here it is



      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

      Also i have just checked my "mysky" order for my broadband and it says that i am now active, the only thing is i have no "@" light lit up on my router any ideas?

      thanks again
      Since you have been able to receive broadband before either:
      - you are not connected at the exchange yet
      or
      - you have a faulty router

      If you tell us more about the make and model of your virgin router we can see if it's possible to check the faulty router side of the equation.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Hi mate thanks for the reply, i have the dreaded sagem router plugged in at the mo, the virgin router i have is the netgear DG834G V5.

      Would the wrong username and password on the router cause the "@" symbol not to work? The reason i ask is to cut a long story short 3 years ago i was on the dreaded connect package and i left straight away, its stayed on skys records that i had broadband with them of course. When i decided to place an order for sky unlimited at are new property we were on virgin before the order got cancelled about 2 weeks after being placed, the reason for it i found out was they had assigned my new unlimited order to my old sky number from 3 years ago which wont even exist anymore! Even tho sky had already given me a new number for this order! Anyway thee guy i spoke to placed a new order for me with the correct number this time and the activation date is of course today. The thing is the router i recieved was assigned to the cancelled order so would there be a possibility that the username and password could be wrong on the router?

    4. #13
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      The router you received is linked to your account and hence should be working on any sky enabled line regardless of the cancellations and reorders. Lets fire up your netgear router to clear the air.

      You need to go to this link and select 'F@ST2504'

      In order to generate your user\pass you will then need to input your LAN MAC address and your default WPA key. Both of these can be found on the side of your sagem.

      Fire up your netgear router and input the following settings along with your user\pass. You will have to click 'setup wizard' on the main router page to get started.

      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (12-05-11)

    6. #14
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Hi mate i have got my username and password from my sky router but the problem i have is when i go to setup wizard on my netgear router i cant actually do it as its saying no adsl service detected

      any ideas?

    7. #15
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      That means you are not active at the exchange yet. You can ring sky and all they will do is tell you to wait till midnight.

      Tell me more about your virgin broadband. When did you get rid of it. Have you tried connecting your router to the socket your virgin router used to work on?

    8. #16
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Thanks again matey really appreciate your help. I did ring sky and got the exact answer you said above. As for my virgin broadband that was at my previous home so i cant actually connect the router to that socket as im no longer there. I didnt transfer via a mac code as there was no active line where i am now.

      How does it work with the line being activated at the exchange? my sky talk is active and has been for nearly 2 weeks now

    9. #17
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      How does it work with the line being activated at the exchange? my sky talk is active and has been for nearly 2 weeks now
      Your line consists of a data cable and a voice cable. The reason your sky talk is active is because your voice cable is connected. In order to provision broadband on the same line somebody has to physically connect your data cable to Sky's equipment in the exchange. It's a 5 minute job.

      Just to make sure your setup is right. The first thing plugged into your socket should be a micro filter. The dsl cable should then be connected to the micro filter and your router.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (12-05-11)

    11. #18
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Oh right i see thanks for that, im guessing if my data cable needs plugging in for my bb to be active its not going to happen tonight then . Didnt think my activation date would go well

    12. #19
      craney33's Avatar
      craney33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      Just spoke to sky again who made me go through all there silly checks changing micro filters etc they then ran a line test they came back as passed. They told me it will be passed to the backroom team to look into im so frustrated already i have been without BB now for nearly 3 weeks, i just dont understand why they give out these activation dates if they cant meet them

    13. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Finally go live tomorrow what to expect?

      99.9% of the time they DO meet them, you only hear about the problems cases on forums like this
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION