Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 35

    Sky Router Static Orange Light

    This is a discussion on Sky Router Static Orange Light within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think we may be getting mixed up between splitters and filters. A splitter has 2 or more sockets where ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      I think we may be getting mixed up between splitters and filters. A splitter has 2 or more sockets where you can plug in a standard phone plug, a filter has 1 phone socket and 1 RJ11 socket where the router is plugged in. What you are calling the splitter in your sketch is the filter. Normally the Sky TV installers will supply an extension which has a splitter on the end which allows the STB to be plugged into one socket and a phone into another.. It is important you don't mix this up with the filter. As long as you keep in mind, filter first, splitter second, you will not go wrong

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      pbul2004's Avatar
      pbul2004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      Sorry about that.

      I will have to check if i have a splitter, is this optional to have a splitter?

      I have found a diagram, attached, will it need to look like this setup?

      Then where the phone is from the filter have a splitter for the phone and sky?

      So Filter (phone) >> Splitter >> 1. Phone 2. Sky.
      Then on the other side of the filter (modem) >> to the Router!?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Router Static Orange Light-diagram.jpg  

    4. #23
      pbul2004's Avatar
      pbul2004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      My missues has just bought a house phone to test, and it works ok ringing out and recieving calls.

      I asked her to plug out all the cables on th back of the router, only leaving in the power and the light on the router is still a static orange.

      Does this mean the router is faulty?

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      In my experience, with just the power plugged into the router, the power light and WiFi will be green and the tick(check) light will be flashing green. When the ADSL is plugged in the tick light goes out completely. The ADSL, @ light will not come on until the cable is plugged into the phone line. It then flashes orange, goes solid, then turns green when the connection is completed.

      I would say the router is faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      pbul2004's Avatar
      pbul2004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      Yeah it seems that way, but i will try the correct setup when i get home and see if that makes any difference, if not ill ring them again.

      Im guessing they will try and charge you for a new router?

      I have also read if you have a sky router you are stuck with them, you can use any other router apart from the one sky provide!

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      Im guessing they will try and charge you for a new router?
      It depends on what agent you get, some will insist you have to pay and others will put it through foc.

      Although it is against the T & Cs, many do use their own router. See here-
      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      I would rather buy my own router rather than pay Sky about 30 for their hobbled router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      pbul2004's Avatar
      pbul2004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      I would prefer a new router rather than probably a refurbished router from sky.

      Just a question of is it worth the risk? hmmm, will see if i can get it working lata, if not PC World might be in order!

      Cheers

    9. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      Quote Originally Posted by pbul2004 View Post
      I would prefer a new router rather than probably a refurbished router from sky.

      Just a question of is it worth the risk? hmmm, will see if i can get it working lata, if not PC World might be in order!

      Cheers
      It was confirmed a few days ago that Sky does not currently penalise customer who use their own routers.

      However there may be network changes in the future which could mean that many non-Sky routers will not connect to Sky. If this happens, they will not be offering support for the non-Sky routers (in-line with their current policy) and will insist that you use their supplied router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #29
      pbul2004's Avatar
      pbul2004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      maybe not worth the risk so much then,

      Thanks for all your replies, will let you know how i get on, hopefully lata, when im back on the net.

      But i think its out of my hands really till i get a new router from sky! They will probably try and blag me and say its my setup thats the problem.

      Only im not too technical with these type of things to win the arguement lol

    11. #30
      Sky eService Team's Avatar
      Sky eService Team is offline Sky Team
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Corporate
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      BSkyB
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Static Orange Light

      Hi pbul2004,

      Please try the following troubleshooting steps from the Sky Help Centre. If you find the issue has not been resolved please contact us to investigate further.

      Let us know how you get on.

      Sky eService Team

      Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help
      My Sky and Sky iD https://mysky.sky.com

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION