Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Why am I on an MER connection?

    This is a discussion on Why am I on an MER connection? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, My Sky Unlimited broadband went live yesterday and it has already gone pear shaped. I'm on an MER ...

    1. #1
      SamSays's Avatar
      SamSays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ranmoor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Ranmoor, Sheffield
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Why am I on an MER connection?

      Hi guys,

      My Sky Unlimited broadband went live yesterday and it has already gone pear shaped.

      I'm on an MER connection with a 4Mbps speed cap. I live round the corner from my local exchange.

      What is going on?




    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      Your connection goes through a training period which should have been explained to you on the literature you received from Sky. The training period can last from a few days up to 10 days. As it does not start immediately this can mean 13-14 days before your line is fully trained. With a good line it can be over in about 3 days.

      You look good for the maximum speed, but your noise margin could be a bit higher. Plug your router into your Test socket and take the stats from there. Use only the ADSL cable supplied by Sky, do not use a trailing extension. You will not see an increase in speed, but hopefully an increase in your downstream noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      SamSays's Avatar
      SamSays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ranmoor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Ranmoor, Sheffield
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      Thanks for the reply Isitme,

      My landline is really good condition. My previous router with my last ISP was synching at 23,986kbps but actual download speeds were roughly 20Mbps.

      I still don't know why I'm on an MER connection and not PPPoA? Why is the VPI 40? I thought Sky broadband used 38?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      Some of Sky's users have been moved to MER, those who are on Sky Voice and Broadband Network. I think its supposed to be an improvement. It uses a different VPI from PPPoA and I think it may also use a different MTU.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      Sky are changing over to mer from ppoa

      Let us know in a few days what speed you get up and down
      will be interesting to see if dlm gives you over 19999
      and what upstream you get

    7. #6
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Some of Sky's users have been moved to MER, those who are on Sky Voice and Broadband Network. I think its supposed to be an improvement.
      I just have broadband from Sky (line is still with BT) and I've been moved to MER. I have noticed a slight drop in the speedtest results since moving to MER, around 400 kbps down on what I was seeing when on PPPoA, but my downstream sync is 17022 kbps, so the drop isnt noticeable.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      Yes, it seems to be ones who have Dlink or Sagem routers. The Netgears may not be compatible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      SamSays's Avatar
      SamSays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ranmoor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Ranmoor, Sheffield
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      Some of Sky's users have been moved to MER, those who are on Sky Voice and Broadband Network.
      Yup I have Sky talk + broadband. I accept that they may be using MER connections but that doesn't explain why I've got a capped connection at 4Mbps when my line is well capable of ADSL2+ speeds.

      I'll give it a few more days. If I don't see any changes I'll have to give Sky a call.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      The figures in your post are those initially set before DLM starts to work.

      If you have only just been connected, then do not worry.

      If you have been connected for a week or longer, check your account page on the Sky website to see if DLM has completed.

      If there is still an issue, call sky.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Why am I on an MER connection?

      but that doesn't explain why I've got a capped connection at 4Mbps when my line is well capable of ADSL2+ speeds.
      Didn't you read the first paragraph in my first post or the letters you have received from Sky? Leave your router plugged in and powered up and let the system do its job.

      You are on ADSL2+!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION