Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    slooooowww speed!

    This is a discussion on slooooowww speed! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I'm new to the forum. Got a problem with my sky connection. The connection is so slow and ...

    1. #1
      dtwst150's Avatar
      dtwst150 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      slooooowww speed!

      Hi all, I'm new to the forum.

      Got a problem with my sky connection. The connection is so slow and has been for a number of months now. I've ran various speed tests and I only achieve 0.34Mbps no matter the time of day or day. Gone through all troubleshooting on the sky website etc but it's still so slow. I'm only about 600-700m from the exchange in Wolverton. I've checked someone elses connection over 1000m away from the exchange and they can get 6Mbps.Don't know what else to try

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      Post your stats, from the normal position and from the Test socket.
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dtwst150's Avatar
      dtwst150 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      Ok here are the stats:
      Downstream Upstream
      Data rate (Kbps) 384 796
      Noise margin (dB) 6.0 14.0
      Attenuation (dB) 43.6 24.9
      Output power (dbm) 18.6 12.4

      The only thing I haven't tried is the test socket as it appears I don't have one.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      If you don't have an NTE socket can you locate your master socket, it is the one with a small cylinder and other bits behind the faceplate. Then unplug everything you have plugged into theother phone sockets, plug a filter and router only into the master socket, using only the ADSL cable supplied by Sky and take your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      dtwst150's Avatar
      dtwst150 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: slooooowww speed!

      I've tried this out this afternoon with the router plugged into the main telephone socket on it's own:
      *** Downstream Upstream
      ***Data Rate (kbps) 384 796
      ***Noise Margin (dB)9.0 13.5
      ***Attenuation (dB) 43.7 25.0
      ***Output power(dbm)19.0 12.4

      Thanks.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      Do you have your Sky router to plug in and try? It looks like you have a serious line fault or your router has failed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      dtwst150's Avatar
      dtwst150 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      Hi, thanks for your help.

      I've tried with my netgear router from sky and a Belkin Play Max router, All give about the same results
      Do I need to speak to Sky if it's a line fault?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      All give about the same results
      Is the noise margin higher when you use the Sky router?

      Unless you have noise on your voice line yes, get Sky to have it checked. I would advise you to plug in your Sky router when you call them, or they are just as likely to hang up on you for using a non Sky router. With the speed you are getting, there is little advantage in using your own router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Sky eService Team's Avatar
      Sky eService Team is offline Sky Team
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Corporate
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      BSkyB
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      Hi dtwst150,

      Sorry you are having an issue with your broadband speed. There are a lot of factors that can effect the speed of your broadband.
      If you have already tried the troubleshooting steps from the Sky Help Centre and this has not resolved your issue. Please contact us to investigate further as there are other options we can try.
      Sky eService Team

      Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help
      My Sky and Sky iD https://mysky.sky.com

    11. #10
      dtwst150's Avatar
      dtwst150 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slooooowww speed!

      Spoken 2 skyntonight who reconfigured the line so now I'm get around 3.45Mbps which is better. Thanks for your help Isitme.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION