Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 34

    Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

    This is a discussion on Ridiculous speeds on unlimited! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been on sky BB for quite a few years now and never experienced problems before. I moved house ...

    1. #1
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      I have been on sky BB for quite a few years now and never experienced problems before.
      I moved house a few months ago and reconnected with sky as I had always been happy with the service. I am not a million miles from the exchange but further than previously, I was told that I would probably get speeds of around 8 meg which I was OK with. I did get those speeds for a while, then I started getting an intermittent connection.
      I phoned tech support and they ran a few tests, asked me to plug my router directly into the test socket, change micro filters etc which I did. They solved the problem and even managed to increase my speed to around 11 meg which I was even happier with.
      Then the fun really starts.....
      After a couple of weeks my connection started dropping regularly again, each time it reconnected I would be left with a slower speed until I was getting less than half a meg.
      I have phoned them about a dozen times, three times after going through the usual, 'unplug extensions, change microfilter, pug into test socket' etc the problem was escalated to level 2 support and they should have called me within 72 hours.
      1 week later, still no call so I phoned them again. The response was that they were having unusually large numbers of calls and they would take my details straight to level 2 personally and I would get a call back within 24 hours guaranteed!
      3 days later (yesterday) they called me back while I was out so they rearranged to call me today which they have done. After running tests from their end and deciding I need an engineer visit which has been arranged for tomorrow I have now been left with speeds that my old dial up modem may have been proud of but I most certainly am not!



      I really hope they can sort it because I am looking into alternatives. I don't want to because I've always been happy with sky but I am paying them 12.50 a month for a service that is barely usable.

      Anyway, rant over. I let you know how the engineer visit goes.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      You're capped at baseline after 'level 2' (CST) have went through troubleshooting - it should have been uncapped as it'll now likely make the engineer's job harder. If you've had 8-11mbps previously, then the stats would suggest that you have some kind of line fault. You'll need to see whether the engineer finds the issue and once he does, then Sky will uncap the line.

    4. #3
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      You're capped at baseline after 'level 2' (CST) have went through troubleshooting - it should have been uncapped as it'll now likely make the engineer's job harder. If you've had 8-11mbps previously, then the stats would suggest that you have some kind of line fault. You'll need to see whether the engineer finds the issue and once he does, then Sky will uncap the line.
      Lets hope so, I thought I had left dial up behind years ago but this is ridiculous.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Are these stats from the test socket using only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky? If they are not, can you please plug in there and post the result?

      When the faceplate of the master socket is removed, are all your extensions dead, ie, without dial tone?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      They are all from the test socket with the faceplate removed, no extensions in the house apart from a plug in extension which has been removed until I get this sorted. Cable and filter for this test was the one supplied by sky. I have tried various others and the results are the same.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      There must be a serious fault on your external line. Let's hope they send a broadband engineer and not one that will just check the phone is working and say everything is OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      I hope so too, I'll come back tomorrow and let you know how it goes. Not gonna bother anymore today cus I'm sick of waiting for pages to load!!

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Just a suggestion, but while you are saddled with the low speed, why not turn off Images? To do tthis in FF, go to Options> Content tab and untick Automatically load images. The other browsers will have a similar option. It does detract from the browsing experience, but it will speed up your browsing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      sturose (03-05-11)

    11. #9
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Just done that and it helps a lot.
      I am on unlimited because I am a heavy user and so are my kids, yes it does kinda spoil the internet experience as just about every website you view these days has pictures of some kind on it but it will help me out for the next 24 hours.

      Just hope they sort it out tomorrow.

    12. #10
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Sorted now. No problems with line to the house, no problems at exchange.

      Openreach engineer said sky had set up wrong. Not sure exactly what but he reckons its sorted now.

      Thanks for advice.

      Just ran a speed test, previously getting 8-9 meg down but they have set my speed lower for the time being to try and deal with disconnection issues.

      Latest test:



      Seriously considering FTTC to get better speeds, shame sky haven't jumped on the bandwagon. Engineer reckons I could get between 36 & 38 meg on FTTC where I live.
      Last edited by sturose; 04-05-11 at 01:04 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION