Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

    This is a discussion on Ridiculous speeds on unlimited! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; And so it begins again!!!!! This is how it started, speeds dipping then connection dropping until I had totally unusable ...

    1. #21
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      And so it begins again!!!!!



      This is how it started, speeds dipping then connection dropping until I had totally unusable internet.

      Getting fed up now.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      You are still on G.DMT

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You are still on G.DMT
      I have no idea what that means, is it important that I get it changed?

      I'm down to 4192 kbps now, dropping slowly.

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      G.DMT will give you a maximum speed of 8Mb. Your connection should be capable of more than that so should be on ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Is it possible they have done this temporarily because of the problems I've been having or should I get on to them asap.

    7. #26
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Now I've had enough!!!

      Just dropped again and didn't reconnect for about 10 minutes and this was the result.



      I might just be leaving sky sooner than I thought.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Openreach engineer said sky had set up wrong. Not sure exactly what but he reckons its sorted now.
      I think that was a fob-off. There is still a fault on your line. If you go for fibre they will fix it if it is between you and the cabinet, if it is between the cabinet and the exchange, it will not matter. If I were you I would be off tout suite.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Strange!! I was just browsing looking at fibre providers when my phone rang.

      BT just offered me their infinity free for three months. Thats a tempting offer.

      Might phone sky later to tell them where to stick their BB.

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Hard to beat! bite their hand off

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      The plot thickens.......

      As I am still in my contract period with sky, unless it is proved that this problem is with the service they are providing then I won't be able to cancel with them. Looks like I am stuck with sky for the time being.

      Anyway, I have noticed a pattern emerging. My broadband still disconnects intermittently and reconnects at a random (usually low) speed. Sometimes it won't reconnect for a long time, longest being about an hour.

      When I pick up the phone to dial and complain to someone my broadband mysteriously connects.

      I decided to do a bit of testing myself earlier because my speeds had been abysmal all day, I was connected at 6000+ kbps which was quite good but I decided to reboot and see what happened. I reconnected at 384 kbps. I picked up the phone and dialed 1471 and left the line open. I watched as the router disconnected and then reconnected at 6784 kbps.

      I hung up the phone and it disconnected again, reconnecting at 300+ kbps so I rang 1471 again, same thing, reconnected at 6784 kbps (incidentally that is the maximum my line has been set at for the time being). This time I left the phone connected for about 20 minutes. Since hanging up I have had 6784 kbps ever since but I am certain that it will drop again on rebooting which I am about to test.

      I'll report back. If anyone has any ideas please tell me. I've got a BT engineer coming out tomorrow to check the line, sky wouldn't arrange that as BT is my telephone provider.




      I have rebooted my router twice, once through the control panel and once by disconnecting the power supply. Both times I reconnected at 6784 kbps!!!

      Have I 'fixed' my problem by simply using the phone???

      Strange. Any techies shed some light on this, I don't believe that it was a coincidence as it happened too many times.
      Last edited by sturose; 09-05-11 at 07:09 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION