Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 34

    Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

    This is a discussion on Ridiculous speeds on unlimited! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What are your stats now?...

    1. #11
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      What are your stats now?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!



      They have set my speed a bit lower than my line should be able to handle and will be monitoring it for the next few days. Hopefully back up to full speed soon.

      I'm definitely weighing up the pros and cons of FTTC though as it is available in my area and the speed I've been told I will probably get sounds very appealing.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      It looks like your line mode has been set to G.DMT, this should not be necessary on a line of your length. Also your upload is very low. You should call Sky and ask them to put it back on to ADSL2+ and raise your upload speed.

      Your connection dropped about 10 minutes before you posted, was this an intentional reboot?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      No I didn't intentionally reboot, how did you know that??? I didn't even notice any drop.

      I have no idea what they have done, my speeds seem a little more stable though.

      I'll probably give it a day or two and see how it goes. If I have any more problems I'll be considering moving to another provider because it appears I am not alone with my speed/connection problems with sky ATM.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      The mode you are on now is only capable of 8Mb, with your attenuation you should get 12-13Mb. It will be more stable, but at the cost of a lot of speed.

      A move to fibre would be OK provided your cabinet is enabled and you are not too far from it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      I'll give them a call in a few days to see if they can up my speed.

      The cabinet is literally only about 50 yards from my front door and is enabled according to BT and the engineer that came out yesterday. One of the main reasons I'm considering this is because I know I should get close to maximum speed with how close the cabinet is.

    8. #17
      F022Y's Avatar
      F022Y is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASUD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Sudbury
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      Afraid on ADSL the distance is to the exchange not to the cab like FTTC, so where the line to the cab maybe xx feet the line to the exchange will be much longer.

    9. #18
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      I realise that, I am thinking about getting FTTC hence the reason for the mention of the cab virtually outside my home.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      If it is one of the new Fibre cabinets, you should be good for 40Mbps, a biit better than you have

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      sturose's Avatar
      sturose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ridiculous speeds on unlimited!

      It is one of the new fibre cabinets according to the engineer. He estimated 36-38, maybe he's just being conservative but who cares. If I got 30 that would be 5x the speed I'm getting now but it should definitely be more than that.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION