Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Can anyone confirm if Vodafone Sure Signal works with MER?

    This is a discussion on Can anyone confirm if Vodafone Sure Signal works with MER? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As I said mine works with Standard Sky router on MER ....

    1. #11
      Chimera's Avatar
      Chimera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      As I said mine works with Standard Sky router on MER.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Can anyone confirm if Vodafone Sure Signal works with MER?

      Quote Originally Posted by Chimera View Post
      As I said mine works with Standard Sky router on MER.

      Sorry, I missed your post

      I see Sky have got more than one IP range starting with 2. maybe vodafone have unblocked one and not the others.

      2.120.0.0 - 2.127.255.255
      2.216.0.0 - 2.223.255.255

      2.121.000.000 IP Address WHOIS | DomainTools.com
      2.216.000.000 IP Address WHOIS | DomainTools.com
      Last edited by fuzzy logic; 07-05-11 at 02:19 AM.

    4. #13
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCEAR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Earby
      Posts
      738
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Can anyone confirm if Vodafone Sure Signal works with MER?

      I'm on a 2.126 IP addy (which now also seems fixed since I got switched to MER).

      When the VF SS box actually turns up here, I'll let you know how I get on. I got it when VF had them on sale for 20 last week so not a massive lose if it doesn't work (they are back upto 50 now)

      Also got a back-up if all else fails. Got my Sky user name+password before I got switched to MER and I still have my old Netgear DG834N which I tried last week and it connects and seems to work OK using my Sky routers MAC address entered manually into it.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Can anyone confirm if Vodafone Sure Signal works with MER?

      Sky IP Addresses aren't fixed, but they have become very sticky.

      With the recent problems shown by people connecting to Tesco's website & the thread on Vodafone describing issues with another ISP, I would personally get on to Vodafone and ask them to check their IP address table.

      What has happened is that the number of IPv4 addresses have run out. We are waiting for IPv6 to be rolled out on to the Internet.

      The US military used to own some blocks which started with '2' and Sky has been one company which purchased a couple of these blocks.

      Obviously Vodafone didn't want their Sure Signal box to work in the USA, so this range was blocked.

      It appears that they now need to update their records.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCEAR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Earby
      Posts
      738
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Can anyone confirm if Vodafone Sure Signal works with MER?

      Apparently VF have now added Sky 2.XXX.XXX.XXX IP's to their firewall white list so any one with a SS box and is on Sky with MER, it should now work.

      Will find out tomorrow as VF have just emailed me to say they have dispatched my SS box today.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION