Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 2 Post By dholdi

    Would it be possible to pay an ISP extra to get better speeds?

    This is a discussion on Would it be possible to pay an ISP extra to get better speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can some sort of deal be done outside the contract?...

    1. #1
      urismarine's Avatar
      urismarine is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Would it be possible to pay an ISP extra to get better speeds?

      Can some sort of deal be done outside the contract?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Would it be possible to pay an ISP extra to get better speeds?

      I think you are on speed.
      Postman Pat and Scubbie like this.


    4. #3
      urismarine's Avatar
      urismarine is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would it be possible to pay an ISP extra to get better speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      I think you are on speed.
      Lots of people take speed.

      I've always wondered about this. What if you offered them an extra 10 quid for better speeds, would they do it? (provided they could give you better speeds of course)

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Would it be possible to pay an ISP extra to get better speeds?

      Yes many do this at the moment. BTW a deal is a contract so you cant do a deal outside of a contract.

      ISPs quite often offer a tiered package:

      x per month for up to z speed
      x+y per month for up to zz speed

      etc etc

    6. #5
      bubsy83's Avatar
      bubsy83 is offline Banned
      Exchange: brecon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes you can choose either upto 8meg or upto 20meg, 8 meg being the cheapest in somecases, obviously your exchange will need to have the equipment to support upto 20meg

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Would it be possible to pay an ISP extra to get better speeds?

      You are with Sky. The only way to get more speed with Sky is to move from Connect to Unlimited or Lite. These actually cost less

      If you are on Unlimited or Lite and have your line set correctly, you will get no more, no matter how much you pay.

      You might get more with another ISP such as O2, who use a different line configuration. You are obviously not happy with Sky, so why not move to them?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION