Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 34 of 34

    Expected line speed 8mb but getting only 4mb!

    This is a discussion on Expected line speed 8mb but getting only 4mb! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; lol, so how do u recommend i get that kind of speed otherwise i won't be able to sleep...

    1. #31
      razor2201's Avatar
      razor2201 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Expected line speed 8mb but getting only 4mb!

      lol, so how do u recommend i get that kind of speed otherwise i won't be able to sleep


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Expected line speed 8mb but getting only 4mb!

      Changing your old master socket to an NTE5 with a filtered faceplate may help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #33
      razor2201's Avatar
      razor2201 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Expected line speed 8mb but getting only 4mb!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Changing your old master socket to an NTE5 with a filtered faceplate may help.
      i'll do that but will it automatic increase the speed or do i have to contact sky again

    5. #34
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Expected line speed 8mb but getting only 4mb!

      It depends on what they have capped it at, it may increase automatically, but you may have to phone Sky again. I think you are probably set at 10240/800, but I could be wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      razor2201 (27-04-11)

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION