Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    External Access Blocked?

    This is a discussion on External Access Blocked? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Rub your eyes Scubbie and wake up!!! I am using my own router - a Linksys WAG354G...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: External Access Blocked?

      Rub your eyes Scubbie and wake up!!!

      I am using my own router - a Linksys WAG354G

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: External Access Blocked?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Rub your eyes Scubbie and wake up!!!
      *Scubbie stands by wall and places her head hard on said wall repeatedly*

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: External Access Blocked?

      Might be a traffic routing issue, if you have a recently allocated to sky IP address.

      I guess you could try doing a tcp traceroute from a remote address using this:- net toolkit::net.traceroute Select the tcp option and input one of your forwarded TCP ports and your own IP address.

      Hopefully, you router will record this in its log as a port scan, of that port (you may have to enable logging port scans etc in the router's settings), proving that it is reaching your router. You may also have an option when you create/edit a port forwarding rule, to log matches, if so, if you temporarily turn that on you should see messages in the router's log indicating a rule match.

    5. #14
      surfymark's Avatar
      surfymark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kesgrave
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: External Access Blocked?

      Hmm, this is driving me nuts now!

      So last night I spent about two hours resetting the router back to factory defaults and then reconfiguring it up (forgot some of the settings so took a while to get the internet back again!)

      At the end of it it was all working fine. Left it overnight, tried again this morning and still fine. Got into work and tried again and it was gone again. Have again tried both my work network and my mobile data and neither can see the IP address that my router is reporting is the external IP address.

      I just don't understand. Could the router be reporting an incorrect external IP address?

      M

    6. #15
      surfymark's Avatar
      surfymark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kesgrave
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: External Access Blocked?

      So I left this alone for a while and it just suddenly started working one day all by itself. It then worked for like a week and stopped again.

      Meantime, my router died and I replaced it with a Netgear DG834 (I think it is from memory).

      Setup all the port forwarding again and it was working like a charm externally using my iphone or ipad on 3G.

      However I then came into work and tried to access it from work and it suddenly isn't working again. It is still working fine from my iphone and ipad in work but the issue now is that I only get really slow GPRS in my office building (3G outside!) so I would really like to get it working from my office network.

      I did a tracert to the current external IP address and it comes up with this:

      C:\Users\xxx>tracert 2.121.116.80

      Tracing route to 02797450.bb.sky.com [2.121.116.80]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 6 ms 3 ms <1 ms 172.23.80.1
      2 9 ms 5 ms 5 ms 217.33.198.1
      3 11 ms 13 ms 10 ms 109.144.54.114
      4 15 ms 10 ms 10 ms core1-te0-4-0-6.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.24
      9.1]
      5 64 ms 13 ms 13 ms peer2-xe1-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.2
      54.104]
      6 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 195.66.226.43
      7 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms 89.200.133.29
      8 19 ms 15 ms 15 ms te1-0-0.dr3.enhmi.isp.sky.com [89.200.134.71]
      9 * * * Request timed out.
      10 * * * Request timed out.
      11 * * * Request timed out.
      12 ^C

      I guess the fact that "sky" is in there is a good sign but why does it just time out at the 9th hop?

      Presumably my office network is somehow blocking it? They used to block lots of stuff but changed everything recently and don't really block anything now so not sure why they block this.

      Any ideas?

      cheers
      Mark

    7. #16
      surfymark's Avatar
      surfymark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kesgrave
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: External Access Blocked?

      OK, so I also asked this question on another forum and someone came back saying that it was probably because my IP address is in a range of IP addresses that has been allocated to Sky. It may be blocked by my work network because it is a "personal" IP address.

      So is there any way around this?

      Are there services (preferably free) that will give me a "good" IP address that I can forward to my sky one? If so, will this get around the blocking issue?

      cheers
      Mark

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: External Access Blocked?

      You could try something like Hotspot Shield but you should really consult with the person in charge of IT at your office.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION