Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Switching from Pipex (non-BT) to Sky

    This is a discussion on Switching from Pipex (non-BT) to Sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was all set to jump from my £42 a month Pipex package to Sky's £22 a month package, but ...

    1. #1
      BK2FUT's Avatar
      BK2FUT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Switching from Pipex (non-BT) to Sky

      I was all set to jump from my £42 a month Pipex package to Sky's £22 a month package, but the salesperson just totally killed my enthusiasm.

      He claims that the typical down-time period if you're changing to Sky Talk is *29 days.*

      I can't go for 29 days with no phone and no internet.

      Surely that can't be accurate?!?!?!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Switching from Pipex (non-BT) to Sky

      Unfortunately this is the same issue many people can experience when changing from one LLU provider to another LLU provider.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Switching from Pipex (non-BT) to Sky

      Pipex is TalkTalk's business broadband. If you are a business user, a move to Sky may not be your best course of action. Sky specifically ban business use on their broadband packages and give no guarantees of service, which will be important to a business user.

      Many come on here saying ' I have lost £xxxx through Sky not providing a good service'. As it is against their T &Cs, Sky don't give a damn and are more likely to cut the service off rather than give sympathy.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      367
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Switching from Pipex (non-BT) to Sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Pipex is TalkTalk's business broadband. If you are a business user, a move to Sky may not be your best course of action. Sky specifically ban business use on their broadband packages and give no guarantees of service, which will be important to a business user.

      Many come on here saying ' I have lost £xxxx through Sky not providing a good service'. As it is against their T &Cs, Sky don't give a damn and are more likely to cut the service off rather than give sympathy.
      The OP may be a Pipex Homecall customer which was the residential arm of Pipex which also included former Bulldog residential customers. I'm guessing a Homecall customer, possibly former Bulldog, because £42 was cost of the line rental, BB and anytime call package.

      BTW if you want to avoid the downtime and don't mind paying £40 and having an new phone number, get Sky to install a new line. It's what I did because I work from home and the best part of a month with no income was not an option.

    6. #5
      Goooner1's Avatar
      Goooner1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switching from Pipex (non-BT) to Sky

      Quote Originally Posted by BK2FUT View Post
      I was all set to jump from my £42 a month Pipex package to Sky's £22 a month package, but the salesperson just totally killed my enthusiasm.

      He claims that the typical down-time period if you're changing to Sky Talk is *29 days.*

      I can't go for 29 days with no phone and no internet.

      Surely that can't be accurate?!?!?!

      I've just switched from Pipex to Sky, no downtime at all, didn't even need a MAC.

      I was on the complete package broadband and calls if that makes any difference. I'd got a MAC from Pipex and was expecting to have to give it to Sky when I signed up but they didn't need it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION