Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Ethernet Switch

    This is a discussion on Ethernet Switch within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Can anyone give me advice on whats the best ethernet switch to get to use on my home network ...

    1. #1
      Footballmadman's Avatar
      Footballmadman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller hall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Twickenham
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet Switch

      Hi

      Can anyone give me advice on whats the best ethernet switch to get to use on my home network unmanaged or smart!
      Any advice welcome as old switch needs upgrade to 16 ports!

      Thanks
      Footballmadman


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      KevinB's Avatar
      KevinB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ethernet Switch

      Unless you have some pressing need to control access to your home network with port security, are using VLANs or expect to use/are using VoIP/QoS then a smart (managed) switch is unnecessary and you should save yourself a few quid and go with a dumb (unmanaged) switch.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to KevinB For This Useful Post:

      Footballmadman (18-04-11)

    5. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Switch

      This is about the cheapest you will get, but it is only 100mbps - TP-Link 16-Port 10/100M Desktop Switch in Plastic Case: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories For a gigabit switch you are probably looking at upwards of 70.

      I doubt if there are many here that have or require 16 ports, so you will probably have to judge by the reviews.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Switch

      don't forget you don't need to get a full 16 port switch, you can buy another switch and run it off the original one.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    7. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Switch

      Amazon have a 8 port tp-link gigabit for 23.99
      use that as the main switch and uplink to your old switch for 10/100 devices

      they all use the same chipsets anyway
      so brand makes no diff

    8. #6
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Switch

      I got an 8 port Belkin switcher because my Router is in a different room from all the equipment I need connected to it.

      I have my TV, Blu Ray player, PS3, Sky HD box connected to it and it works flawless.

      Here's the one I got:

      Belkin : 8-Port Gigabit Switch

      I paid around 30 for mine because I needed mine in a hurry and went to my local computer shop. I expect you would be able to get it a bit cheaper online.

    9. #7
      Medicuk's Avatar
      Medicuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Poplar
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Free to Air
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Switch

      Well I have a five port (getnet) switch from play, it cost 6 free postage.
      Panasonic TV, PS3 and Netgear NAS drive all running very nicely.

    10. #8
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Switch

      not gigabit though is it
      you can get a 5 port gigabit for 13.99 at amazon

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION