Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

    This is a discussion on 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am getting awful speed from my connection at the moment. I have switched to the engineer port for the ...

    1. #1
      nasmith's Avatar
      nasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      I am getting awful speed from my connection at the moment. I have switched to the engineer port for the past day or two and its no better.

      No matter how many reboots I try the downstream number will not shift from 510kbps. I am not close to the exchange but was getting over 3000kbps until recently.

      Please does anyone have any ideas of anything I can try?

      Neil

      Stats (using test socket):

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4358 5275 0 0 0 0:14:43
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 0:15:51
      WLAN 13344 10963 0 0 0 0:15:28
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 510 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.5 db 39.4 db
      Noise Margin 12.6 db 11.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      You were doing well to get 3meg from a line att of 62.5.
      If nothing has changed with regard to your internal setup, and using the test socket would tend to confirm this then you could have an issue with the external wiring to your house.
      The only way to sort that I'm afraid involves a call to Sky.


    4. #3
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      could be a line fault or router faulty

    5. #4
      nasmith's Avatar
      nasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      Thanks both - I will check the line for anything obvious before ringing sky.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      Good point Laprion, check your filters nasmith.


    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      Looks like Connect going by that upstream speed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      It looks like Connect and the noise margin has probably been set to 15 db due to line instability. It must be pretty bad when it can't get up to the set margin. Check your internal wiring by using the Test socket as suggested.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      nasmith's Avatar
      nasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      I am using the test socket.

      By connect do you mean I might have been switched to another sky bb package?

      Can't see anything obviously wrong with the line and phone line is clear.

      Thanks for help all.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      Sky BB Connect is one of 3 BB packages that Sky do. The other two (Home Lite & Unlimited) require Sky to have equipment in your local telephone exchange.

      Take a look at the link below and put in your postcode.

      If the details of the exchange confirm that sky does not have any equipment, then you are definitely on Sky BB Connect and there is no chance of you being on sky BB Unlimited.

      SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

      Whilst looking at the page, see if there are any other LLU providers listed. If there are, then they will be able to provide a much better package for you.

      There are many other ISPs who resell BT Wholesale packages and offer much better terms than Sky BB connect does. Search the Internet and you will soon find some sites which offer you some short lists.

      Also read this thread:

      (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      nasmith's Avatar
      nasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 510kbps Downstream - any ideas?!

      Sky are listed as an LLU operator on my local exchange so I guess it's down to a fault at my end. Going to have to resort to a dreaded call to sky. Any tips on how to get it looked into asap?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION