Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 48

    needing to change IP address

    This is a discussion on needing to change IP address within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you are seriously worried about hiding your IP address, have you considered subscribing to a Proxy Server? It is ...

    1. #21
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      If you are seriously worried about hiding your IP address, have you considered subscribing to a Proxy Server?

      It is quite easy to divert specific or even all your computer's Internet traffic via a proxy server.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      itusedtodoit's Avatar
      itusedtodoit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If you are seriously worried about hiding your IP address, have you considered subscribing to a Proxy Server?

      It is quite easy to divert specific or even all your computer's Internet traffic via a proxy server.

      It is not so much hiding my IP it is just being able to change it from one user to the next and most proxies are registered to the hilt so if you use them, then they cause more problems than they are worth.

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      It is not so much hiding my IP it is just being able to change it from one user to the next
      In my crystal ball I can see student accommodation somewhere and through the mists I see some rascals downloading illegal material while another stands in the shadows knowing that if they are caught, he will be blamed equally.
      What he should do is use Hotspot shield on his PC. He will not then be associated with those who are doing wrong
      Hotspot Shield

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,109
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      We should have accelerated our uptake of IPv6 years ago, not relied on NAT.
      Current Sync 79999/19999

    6. #25
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Having been a moderator elsewhere, I can say that frequent changes of an IP address are as suspicious as having the same IP address. For anyone posting on a forum somewhere, just to wind people up, then I know they will be caught out and permanently banned. In the mean time they just upset the other members.

      Anyone changing their IP address frequently in order to hide from the authorities deserves to get caught and will.

      If you are attempting to hide your IP address from torrent sites, then to be fair it isn't worth it. ACS Law failed miserably in the courts. If you are unsure about the situation, then rent a seed-box.

      Sorry, I just do not get why someone actually needs to frequently change their IP address.

      Firewalls are reasonably good these days, but not infallible. If someone is actually worried about their network security, then perhaps they need to rethink about their network structure.

      For example: keep your OS up to date, use a good firewall & keep your AV software current, consider which computers need to be connected to the Internet and consider setting up a closed LAN if necessary (i.e. one that does not have a direct link to the Internet).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #26
      itusedtodoit's Avatar
      itusedtodoit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Nothing to do with any of those it is a simple case that three members of my family buy and sell on ebay. now not sure what you know about that site but it is easy and advisable to keep your account details separate from any other person that is using the site, which includes IP.

      Now I have everything else separate and I will be damned I am going to loose my living because some internet provider needs to change the way they do things, when there are so many alternatives.

      And by the sounds of it do not hold your breath for IPv6, as by the sounds of it providers were reluctant to take it on before the economy took a dive, due to the costs, so I really can't see them taking it on over the the next few years

    8. #27
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      If you want the ability to change your ip address as and when you want then o2/be is the isp for you.

    9. #28
      itusedtodoit's Avatar
      itusedtodoit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Most of them allow you to change IP easy enough and this one used to up until recently. But I will have to read the bumf but I think I am stuck on contract for twelve month with sky, so it is a case of finding which routers do not have this problem yet and finding out if anyone knows the timescale of these updates, if I am lucky one of the routers will last out the rest of my time on this contract. then I can switch to one of the others.

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      I'm not too familiar with eBay, but I can understand that they would want to discourage people from bidding on the same product under multiple IDs to boost the price artificially.

      If it is for occasional bid on the other accounts, then could I suggest that an easier method would be to use a 3G dongle?

      Also can I politely point out that Sky specifically frown upon using it's BB network for business usage.

      If you are running a business from home, then there are specific packages from other suppliers who will be able to give you a guaranteed level of support. Should you have a disconnection, then you will not get compensation from Sky for loss of earnings.

      It might also be a good idea for you to consider installing a 2nd line.

      Finally, something that should have been mentioned previously, it you reset your Sky router took often, then this is interpreted by DLM as a line problem. Your connection speed will be reduced as a result.

      P.S. Read this for an idea of what is happening with regards to the IPv6 rollout:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv6_de...United_Kingdom

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #30
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      If you want the ability to change your ip address as and when you want then o2/be is the isp for you.
      Why do you suggest this?

      Their IP's are as sticky as hell! The only way to get a different one is to change the MAC address in the router.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION