Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 48

    needing to change IP address

    This is a discussion on needing to change IP address within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The reason you can get a change by switching off the router overnight is probably that many do this as ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      The reason you can get a change by switching off the router overnight is probably that many do this as a matter of course. When you swich on in the morning there will be a bigger pool of addresses available. This should mean that if you reboot your router in the early morning you have a better chance of a change than if you rebooted in the evening, when most routers are in use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      It is quite true what you are saying Tom.

      I wonder how many people will have 'reboot the Sky router' on their minds first thing in the morning though?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      That's what I mean, most who switch off their router will not put it on again until they reurn from their working day, although many will want to check their emails first thing in the morning.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: needing to change IP address

      You can bounce the port in LAMA forcing the router to resync with the exchange.
      Well yes, but that wasnt what we were talking about.
      We were talking about giving the customer a new IP, we have NO means whatsoever to gaurentee a customer gets a new IP.

      Thats what i ment, ofc we can drop the port but like other fella said that is exactly the same as rebooting the router.

      if you have been banned from a forum live with it or use a proxy to bypass the ban and continue posting or whatever you are doing.
      if you gave us a bit more info depending on why you need your IP changed i may be able to give you a work around for certyain sites that IP ban that doesnt envolve proxys or masking your IP.

    6. #15
      itusedtodoit's Avatar
      itusedtodoit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      I also have that problem of the sticky IP and I am just wondering what has changed, as I have only been with sky for five month and up until about two days ago all I had to do to change my IP was press the D-Link router button on and off at the back of the router.
      NO unplugging, NO resetting, just a simple press on and off of a button any time of the day and it would even jump between ranges also but now seems to be stuck on the number 2 range if it changes at all.

      And people prefer to change their IPs for a lot of reasons, not just because they were kicked off a forum.

    7. #16
      itusedtodoit's Avatar
      itusedtodoit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Could this be the 2.04 update problem I have been reading about on here with the change to MER.

      I am supposed to be able to take it back to start, or what ever it is called with the disc but is there a way to stop it updating, or do you have to just go out and get a new or older router?

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Sticky IP addresses have nothing to do with your firmware.

      Essentially it has everything to do with the global lack of spare IPv4 addresses available for people to use.

      For reference many other people on other ISPs are also experiencing the same problem.

      Hopefully when IPv6 is rolled out, this issue will be addressed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      itusedtodoit's Avatar
      itusedtodoit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sticky IP addresses have nothing to do with your firmware.

      Essentially it has everything to do with the global lack of spare IPv4 addresses available for people to use.

      For reference many other people on other ISPs are also experiencing the same problem.

      Hopefully when IPv6 is rolled out, this issue will be addressed.
      What I have read about IPV6 it is going to make things worse for changing IPs, as every modem linked to the web will have a fixed IP

      I took the modem back to start of day and it went back to PPPoA but then instantly updated back to MER

      It is just the fact it just started happening only a few days ago and I have talked to people still using BT and those stick things and theirs is still switching the same as this one used to.

      It just looks like something had to change to make that happen

      Just asked the question on the Sky forum and they are saying it is the change to MER that is causing the problem of the sticky IP.

      So anyone know which routers this is happening to and which it is not happening to so I can start looking round for working routers?
      Last edited by itusedtodoit; 18-07-11 at 04:10 PM.

    10. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Quote Originally Posted by itusedtodoit View Post
      What I have read about IPV6 it is going to make things worse for changing IPs, as every modem linked to the web will have a fixed IP
      For those worried, remember that this will work both ways.

      Whilst IPv6 isn't going to be rolled out globally immediately, it could potentially place new adopters at risk from being identified more easily, but in the long term everyone will be converted to IPv6.

      Quote Originally Posted by itusedtodoit View Post
      Just asked the question on the Sky forum and they are saying it is the change to MER that is causing the problem of the sticky IP.
      This just means that Sky has had to purchase extra IP addresses during this transition period. Initially MER was more sticky than PPPoA, but some have complained that PPPoA also became sticky in some cases.

      Quote Originally Posted by itusedtodoit View Post
      So anyone know which routers this is happening to and which it is not happening to so I can start looking round for working routers?
      Sky has tailored firmware for all their routers. I would imagine that they are going to attempt to get all their models compatible with MER.

      Annoyingly they have not released much information to the public, otherwise members would be more successful in getting their own routers to work with MER.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #20
      itusedtodoit's Avatar
      itusedtodoit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: needing to change IP address

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      For those worried, remember that this will work both ways.

      Whilst IPv6 isn't going to be rolled out globally immediately, it could potentially place new adopters at risk from being identified more easily, but in the long term everyone will be converted to IPv6.



      This just means that Sky has had to purchase extra IP addresses during this transition period. Initially MER was more sticky than PPPoA, but some have complained that PPPoA also became sticky in some cases.



      Sky has tailored firmware for all their routers. I would imagine that they are going to attempt to get all their models compatible with MER.

      Annoyingly they have not released much information to the public, otherwise members would be more successful in getting their own routers to work with MER.
      I'm getting the opposite from the people I am talking to, the moment they get the MER update their IP is messed up with that sticky IP, even though it is working perfectly before hand.

      At the moment the consensus seems to be to move to an alternative but I would still prefer to find a way round this before I go though that change again.
      Last edited by itusedtodoit; 19-07-11 at 09:50 AM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION