Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Blocking a Laptop via Router

    This is a discussion on Blocking a Laptop via Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I just wanted to know if it is possible to block a certain laptop from accessing Sky via the ...

    1. #1
      TheAristocrat's Avatar
      TheAristocrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Blocking a Laptop via Router

      Hi,
      I just wanted to know if it is possible to block a certain laptop from accessing Sky via the router. If so, how would I go about doing so?

      Regards


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Blocking a Laptop via Router

      Quote Originally Posted by TheAristocrat View Post
      I just wanted to know if it is possible to block a certain laptop from accessing Sky via the router. If so, how would I go about doing so?
      Assuming that you can't get access to the laptop and remove your router's details from it, you have a couple of choices:

      1. Change the Network Key and/or the SSID of your router

      2. Enable 'Wireless Station Access List'

      For option 1, you will need to change any other device to match the new details.

      Enter: 192.168.0.1 in to the address line of your browser.

      Username = admin
      Password = sky

      Click the 'SETUP' tab

      Change either (or both) 'Name (SSID)' or 'WPA-PSK Security Encryption' settings to match your new choice.

      For option 2, you will first need to set up the feature by logging in to the router and recording the WiFi MAC address of all your WiFi enabled devices, then you can enable the feature.

      Enter: 192.168.0.1 in to the address line of your browser.

      Username = admin
      Password = sky

      Click the 'SETUP' tab and then click 'SETUP ACCESS LIST' (beside the 'Wireless Station Access List' heading).

      Follow the instructions on the screen for adding the MAC codes.

      When you have completed this, click the box beside 'Turn Access Control On'.

      Remember that this is enabled when ever you get a new device. It will need to be added.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      TheAristocrat's Avatar
      TheAristocrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocking a Laptop via Router

      Wont I need to contact Sky to change any of these details? I could have sworn I was told about/ or read this some time ago.

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Blocking a Laptop via Router

      Quote Originally Posted by TheAristocrat View Post
      Wont I need to contact Sky to change any of these details? I could have sworn I was told about/ or read this some time ago.
      None of the above details need approval or input from Sky to be changed.

      All the above changes are done in the router.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Blocking a Laptop via Router

      The only thing I would suggest is to save your router settings (see <Maintenance> <Backup Settings> for more info) in case you need to reset the router at a later date or it is done accidental.

      I have used both features on my WiFi routers for some time now. The 'Wireless Station Access List' feature beefs up both WEP & WPA-PSK security as any device trying to get onto your router also needs to be pre-approved and spoofing a WiFi MAC address is harder to do for many people.

      Note: I didn't say impossible!

      The only hiccup for me was forgetting that I'd set it up when a friend visited. When she tried to connect her Laptop we couldn't work out why.

      Once I realised I turned the feature off, allowing her laptop to connect. I was then able to capture the MAC address and update the list to include her Laptop. I then re-enabled the feature & all was fine once more.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Blocking a Laptop via Router

      You don't say whether this laptop is owned by someone in your house. If it does, remember Scubbie's instructions will only stop them connecting by wireless, they can plug in by ethernet and this will not stop them. There is no way you can stop an ethernet connection, you can make it difficult, but anything you put in can be bypassed by anyone with a bit of network knowledge.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Blocking a Laptop via Router

      If as tom suggested it is being connected by an ethernet cable then just hide the cable.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Blocking a Laptop via Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You don't say whether this laptop is owned by someone in your house.
      I was aware that this wasn't mentioned and I realise that there are many reasons for locking computers out of a network.

      The system I've described will only allow a WiFi enabled laptop that has got permission to connect via WiFi and as you've correctly pointed out, the same system does not apply to any device connected physically by an Ethernet cable.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION