Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 60

    Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

    This is a discussion on Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I commented on this router in another thread but looking closer at the reviews I get the impression that the ...

    1. #41
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      I commented on this router in another thread but looking closer at the reviews I get the impression that the high number or poor ones may be due to the fact that the users are not very well versed in setting up a router. A few complained that the CD was useless and didn't help with the set up, which shows their ignorance in my opinion. As far as I can gather the CD is only for setting up the apps that Belkin supply with it. I think these reports may be due to the buyers getting their router from an ISP complete with a CD that takes your hand through the set up. It is not often you get reviews with so wildly varying opinions, from amazing to very poor.

      I think this would be an excellent router for the experienced user who has need of all the 'bells and whistles'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I commented on this router in another thread but looking closer at the reviews I get the impression that the high number or poor ones may be due to the fact that the users are not very well versed in setting up a router. A few complained that the CD was useless and didn't help with the set up, which shows their ignorance in my opinion. As far as I can gather the CD is only for setting up the apps that Belkin supply with it. I think these reports may be due to the buyers getting their router from an ISP complete with a CD that takes your hand through the set up. It is not often you get reviews with so wildly varying opinions, from amazing to very poor.

      I think this would be an excellent router for the experienced user who has need of all the 'bells and whistles'.
      I'm afraid I'd be one of those 'users are not very well versed in setting up a router' and who would need their hand held, if you guys don't mind me asking questions I don't mind investing in the Belkin.. I want to learn but don't want to be a pain in the bum & find that nobody is willing to help..

    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      No problem, there will always be someone around to help you

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Ultimately, one thing stands out to getting ANYTHING to work:

      Follow the instructions

      So long as you can read, understand and follow instructions you shouldn't have an issue with anything in the world. With regards to a router you'll need some settings to enter but obviously we can help with that but the rest should be simple
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #45
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      I spoke to Sky they have re-profiled my line (after saying there was nothing they could do as my line was already at it's max!!), changed me to G.DMT & these are now my stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 16 db

      Better than a poke in the eye... Thank you for the help
      Last edited by SilverJDM; 12-04-11 at 06:42 PM.

    7. #46
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #47
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Lightbulb Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      For reference, I've found out from reading the Netgear forums why both the Belkin & Netgear routers share the 'N600'. It's because they support dual 300Mb WiFi n connections, even though there aren't many PCs or USB WiFi n adapters able to cope with the extra speed.

      Some of you may have known this already, but I didn't.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #48
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by SilverJDM View Post
      Tried looking for the Belkin Play N600 (F7D8301 number taken from the Belkin website) but it doens't seem available here in the UK, Amazon only have the F7D4401UK so back to the drawing board on which router to buy.. + the N600 gets some very poor reviews

      Edit: OK I was looking at the US website Doh, the UK site shows the model number as F7D4301UK which is the cable version so I guess the ASDL version is the F7D4401UK... Any body have any thoughts on the reviews?
      Looks available here

      Belkin Play Max N600 Wireless Modem Router
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #49
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Even though there aren't many PCs or USB WiFi n adapters able to cope with the extra speed.
      Mine does

      Good old trusty MAC
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    11. #50
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      Mine does

      Good old trusty MAC
      You mean it can use 2.4 and 5 ghz at the same time giving you a wireless speed of 600mbps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION