Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 60

    Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

    This is a discussion on Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Took I bit of working out how to do it but I think this is what you were asking for ...

    1. #31
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Took I bit of working out how to do it but I think this is what you were asking for

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2042 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59 db 36 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 10 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Call Sky and ask them to reconfigure your line. The problems with the old router has caused your speed to be reduced, with the new router you should get it back up again. You should get 3-4 Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      SilverJDM (12-04-11)

    5. #33
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      You have room for improvement

      Your line is currently on ADSL2+, I think it would preform better on G.DMT

      If it was changed to G.DMT and re-profiled correctly you should get close to 4Mb

      as a general rule of thumb of each 3db Noise margin you have spare you can gain between 400kb-1.2Mb
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers For This Useful Post:

      SilverJDM (12-04-11)

    7. #34
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      You have room for improvement

      Your line is currently on ADSL2+, I think it would preform better on G.DMT

      If it was changed to G.DMT and re-profiled correctly you should get close to 4Mb

      as a general rule of thumb of each 3db Noise margin you have spare you can gain between 400kb-1.2Mb
      Sorry to sound stoopid but how do I get it changed to G.DMT? is this something Sky has to do or is it some settings that I need to change?

    8. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by SilverJDM View Post
      Sorry to sound stoopid but how do I get it changed to G.DMT? is this something Sky has to do or is it some settings that I need to change?
      G.DMT is something that some tier 1 (Sky help) people will understand. If they don't then they shouldn't be able to fix things anyway and pass you to someone else.

      Between you and I, it is what Sky's routers report when you are on ADSL as opposed to ADSL2+.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #36
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      If your router is the one that's mentioned in your signature then it is possible for your to do it yourself using the Mel's Notes app.

      But sine you need your line reconfigured your best bet is to call Sky to get your line reconfigured and ask them to put you on G.DMT and repost your stats.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #37
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      If your router is the one that's mentioned in your signature then it is possible for your to do it yourself using the Mel's Notes app.

      But sine you need your line reconfigured your best bet is to call Sky to get your line reconfigured and ask them to put you on G.DMT and repost your stats.
      Currently using a borrowed Sky Netgear DG934G as the 834GT stopped working & Sky have sent me a Sagem2304N to replace it but I'm reluctant to use it with all the negativity regarding the 2304N

    11. #38
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Now you knowledgable people know my stats & so on, if I get Sky to change me to G.DMT is the Belkin Play N600 still the router to get?

    12. #39
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Quote Originally Posted by SilverJDM View Post
      Now you knowledgable people know my stats & so on, if I get Sky to change me to G.DMT is the Belkin Play N600 still the router to get?
      I believe it would be nice for the internal LAN & WLAN, but it isn't going to work a miracle on the WAN (ADSL connection). This specifically means that talking between computers & network drives will be exceptional. Any communication to the Internet will always be limited by your connection speed.

      You certainly need to give Sky a call and see if they can squeeze something more from your line. They could do this with the present router, it doesn't have to be any particular router to do this.

      As already mentioned, G.DMT may actually help in your case, compared to ADSL2+.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      SilverJDM (12-04-11)

    14. #40
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have a D-Link or a Sagem?

      Tried looking for the Belkin Play N600 (F7D8301 number taken from the Belkin website) but it doens't seem available here in the UK, Amazon only have the F7D4401UK so back to the drawing board on which router to buy.. + the N600 gets some very poor reviews

      Edit: OK I was looking at the US website Doh, the UK site shows the model number as F7D4301UK which is the cable version so I guess the ASDL version is the F7D4401UK... Any body have any thoughts on the reviews?

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION