Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    D-Link User/Pass

    This is a discussion on D-Link User/Pass within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers The issue is if you are on Connect, then changing the router will be the least ...

    1. #11
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      The issue is if you are on Connect, then changing the router will be the least of your problems.

      I Suggest you check Sam Knows to see if Sky has LLU in your exchange.
      If you put in your phone number in the adsl checker below it should inform you if your on an LLU based service: - ADSL24 - ADSL, ADSL2+, LLU and Fibre (FTTC) Availability Checker


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass

      Quote Originally Posted by Evil2k8 View Post
      I just want to get onto the Zoom Modem, It's a hell of alot more securer and used it on BT 4 years ago with no problems.
      It isn't BT Broadband that is the problem. The problem is between BT Wholesale & Sky and the implementation of the Sky BB Connect package.

      Looking at your connection speed this is what you are on.

      From what I have witnessed on this forum with other Sky BB Connect users and their issues, I would simply suggest that you look for another ISP promptly.

      The way that BTW & Sky manage this product is disgraceful. Some will argue that the issue stems from BTW, others will claim it is Sky. Until Sky invest properly and actually get the product fixed, I would never recommend it to anyone.

      Sky's LLU packages (Lite & Unlimited) are a different story and very good value for money.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass

      According to SamKnows
      Sky / Easynet : Not available

      Implies that Sky doesn't have LLU in your exchange

      Means that you are almost certainly on Connect.

      Their are no ISPs with LLU in your exchange.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. #14
      Evil2k8's Avatar
      Evil2k8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Amlwch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass



    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass

      Take a look at this thread:

      (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Start composing your statistics for different times of the day, using the BT BB Speedtest. Sky won't accept stats from other speed testers.

      Then take a look at any of these web pages:

      thinkbroadband :: List of Broadband Providers in the UK

      ISPreview UK - Top ISP Internet Service Provider Information Site

      Best UK ISP List | Broadband and Narrowband Providers - ISPreview UK

      Top10.com » Compare Broadband Packages - Broadband Package Comparison

      ADSL ISP List

      Read any reviews and find out which package will suit your needs.

      Then call Sky and ask for your MAC code. Do not ask them to cancel your BB as this will directly cause you to be without a BB connection for several weeks whilst the line is cleared and a new ISP is able to provide your with a connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: D-Link User/Pass

      Fastpath wont be an issue with speed and fluctuation.

      Altho the BT router wont gain Sync, neither will your other one.

      Maybe its worth connecting it as you will gain PPP and you can see if the noise margins are improved or the same.

      If its the same its not the router.

      I say worth connecting without PPP as it may not even be the router. No point trying to get the pass yet.

    8. #17
      Evil2k8's Avatar
      Evil2k8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Amlwch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass



      Any suggestions? the modem automatically set itself to LLU with PPPOA and it WORKS!

      Been 2 hours now and not a single line drop in Speed, Noise Margin, the SNT dropped by 0.5 but that's it Also, my Firewall has stopped getting hack attempts.

    9. #18
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass

      Quote Originally Posted by Evil2k8 View Post


      Any suggestions? the modem automatically set itself to LLU with PPPOA and it WORKS!

      Been 2 hours now and not a single line drop in Speed, Noise Margin, the SNT dropped by 0.5 but that's it Also, my Firewall has stopped getting hack attempts.
      mode: T1.413 is an american standard and not fully compatible with what's used in the UK (see- ITU G.992.1 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia ), so if there's an option to change mode to G.dmt / G.992.1 then I'd suggest selecting that instead, although "operational mode" indicates that it has negotiated g.dmt anyway.

    10. #19
      Evil2k8's Avatar
      Evil2k8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Amlwch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass



      Compared to the other screenshot, only errors show up. that Dlink DSL-2460S absolutely sucks in my area.

    11. #20
      Evil2k8's Avatar
      Evil2k8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Amlwch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link User/Pass



      Could this be indicating a LandLine fault? My modem restarted itself then looking at the SNR level it's dropped and FEC errors have rocketed up.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION