Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    No Router

    This is a discussion on No Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I've rejoined sky broadband after 2 years away. I keep asking them to send me a router and ...

    1. #1
      tobione's Avatar
      tobione is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Router

      Hi all,

      I've rejoined sky broadband after 2 years away. I keep asking them to send me a router and they kept saying they have requested one. After waiting 2 weeks I decided to dig my old router out just to get going. Now when asked again after it hadn't arrived they are saying they will not send one as I can use the old one.
      I did want an 'N' band router and expected that sky would send one without question.
      From order to activation has taken about six months in total and I am really peed off with the whole thing now.

      I'm wondering if they are obliged to send one as it is a new broadband subscription on a new line!

      Any advice is much appreciated.

      TIA


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: No Router

      I suppose you could try telling them that you gave/sold your old sky router to a friend after you left Sky, and had borrowed it back and flashed sky's firmware back onto it, since sky had failed to send you one, but your mate now wants his router back.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No Router

      Unfortunately if you were logged on their system as having an old router, they don't send out new ones.

      You should have lied and said it was skipped or something.

      In the mean time, you could extract the password and get hold of your own WiFi n router.

      BTW: There are a lot of reported problems with the new router, you're better off without it IMHO until they fix it and it becomes more reliable

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      tobione's Avatar
      tobione is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Router

      Oh dear, thanks for clearing that up.

      I'll try and get hold of a decent one then!

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No Router

      Quote Originally Posted by tobione View Post
      Oh dear, thanks for clearing that up.

      I'll try and get hold of a decent one then!
      No problem. I would suggest that you extract the router's password/sign on details first though and try with another router if you have one to hand.

      Technically it is against Sky's T&Cs, but i think that they could fall fowl IMHO in respect that they are not providing a reasonably secure & capable router. WiFi n has been available for a few years now.

      Getting your V1 and V2 router passwords - the safe way

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      tobione (05-04-11)

    8. #6
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No Router

      Oh BTW, there is no such thing as a sky broadband "N" router.

      ATM i have seen a few in testing, altho these wont be out for atleast 3-4months ATLEAST.

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No Router

      Quote Originally Posted by SkyCST View Post
      Oh BTW, there is no such thing as a sky broadband "N" router.

      ATM i have seen a few in testing, altho these wont be out for atleast 3-4months ATLEAST.
      Thanks for the update.

      Regular members of the forum are aware that the Sagem 2304n is not fully WiFi n rated.

      We understand that the Sagem 2504N is fully WiFi n rated. Some members are believing that they have had this supplied, but I hadn't been so sure with the way people are reporting things. You've just confirmed that it hasn't yet gone into the general population.

      It would be nice to have the specs of both routers so we have some idea when people need help with them.

      Screen shots of the set up pages would also be highly appreciated too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #8
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: No Router

      You could just call up and say that you dropped it when you were cleaning and it broke. Make sure that it is not connected when calling though.

      Since you have only signed up in the last 12 months it won't give the agent the option to charge you.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION