Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 36 of 36

    Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme I am wondering if flashing the router with the firmware on the CD has in fact ...

    1. #31
      seadog's Avatar
      seadog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I am wondering if flashing the router with the firmware on the CD has in fact turned from a 2504N to a 2304N.
      No, it was a 2304 that they sent me - so just flashing it up with the updated firmware version. What I don't understand is why Sky are shipping these to customers knowing that the firmware needs updating. If, like me, you are unlucky enough to unplug your router before the update happens (I presume they remotely send it normally?!) then you get stuck with the "power light only" situation and no ability to use the reset button.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,906
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband

      Very often the people who are working in the Warehouse are the last to know when there is a problem with a product in any firm.

      With due respect to them, they are likely to have even less of an idea about how to clearly identify the faulty batch if the routers are already packaged ready for labelling and dispatching.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #33
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband

      Have seen people have one connected for a couple of weeks and not get the firmware update.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. #34
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by seadog View Post
      Sorry to hear you are in the same boat. You might get the existing router to start working if you follow the steps I took. For example, do you have "v5" on the Sky CD they sent with the router? If so, you might be able to upgrade the software (firmware) on the router which seems, for me, to have stopped the "power light only" problem.
      na m8...myself & sky tryed all that....nothing worked....caput,knackered.

      new one should be here thurs 7th..hope to hell it aint another sagecom

    6. #35
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband

      I hope so for you sanity they are terrible.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #36
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Nightmare first day - Sky Broadband

      Staff haven't been properly briefed on identifying issues with the new Sagems, and the firmware restoration process that was sent out has some glaring errors.

      For future reference, there is a much easier process than manually setting IP/DNS etc - on the v5 CD, go into Utilities, Win (or Mac), and run the SRTool application. Does it all automatically. Apparently doesn't work on Windows XP, though I've no idea if or why that would be the case. It also appears to be impossible to put the router into recovery mode manually, unless they've changed the process and not told anyone.

      Also, some of the new Sagems are freezing up after half an hour or so, and need to be rebooted. This has been speculated to be an overheating issue. I have tried asking customers to stand the router vertically and make sure it's in a well ventilated area, but to no avail. I think they're just broken, or it might be the faulty Sagem PSUs coming back for revenge.

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION