Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 41

    Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

    This is a discussion on Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by jmd1 so I change the security option to "WPA/WPA [mixed mode]"? then do I have change anything ...

    1. #31
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      Quote Originally Posted by jmd1 View Post
      so I change the security option to "WPA/WPA [mixed mode]"?
      then do I have change anything on the laptop or printer?
      Best thing to do would be to change the encryption to WPA/WPA2 mixed moved
      scroll down and then click on apply.

      when the page reloads add your initials to the end of the SSID or just change it completely.

      If you don't change the SSID then you will have to remove it from every devices preferred networks list.

      Note you will now have to connect all your devices to the new network with the new network key.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      When I changed it to that it still had TKIP! so changed it back...................

      should the encryption be AES?

    4. #33
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      AES Should work.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers For This Useful Post:

      jmd1 (06-04-11)

    6. #34
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      Tried your different suggestions but the Kindle still does not want to connect - thanks for your help!
      Sky Support have suggested changing to WEP but concerned about the security implications but think I will leave it for now and try that later or tomorrow - am getting fed up and irritated so may make a mess of everything if I try now........................
      but thank you again

    7. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      Did you try changing the Network Key to lower case as mentioned by Isitme in post #24?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      You might also want to try disabling the security completely, just for a trial. If it still fails to connect then something other than the security is stopping it.

      You haven't enabled the wireless access list have you? This would stop the connection of any wireless device not registered. If you have, turn it off, add the Kindle then turn it on again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #37
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      Oh it connects when the security is disabled - that was what Sky support suggested and I got a download too. Put that back on.
      What wireless access list?

    10. #38
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      In the wireless setup page of the router you will see an entry for Wireless Station Access List - Setup Access List. I don't think you will have it set up as even with no security, it would stop you connecting. The answer lies elsewhere.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #39
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      AES should have worked. Was looking earlier and it only mentioned that it wouldn't work with TKIP
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    12. #40
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Kindle and Sky -Sagen Router

      Well, have tried again today but getting fed up again so will try the Sky official response of changing to WEP probably tomorrow.
      Yes, I hoped that the AES bit would do something too!

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION