Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Very slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Very slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, we used to use Virgin Media in my home but switched to Sky last April due to terrible problems ...

    1. #1
      bulmasman's Avatar
      bulmasman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Very slow speeds

      Hey, we used to use Virgin Media in my home but switched to Sky last April due to terrible problems with our Virgin connection and their appalling customer service. Everything was going well with Sky, we were getting an average of 4mb connection speeds which, considering our distance from the exchange etc... we felt was acceptable. However, come September we had a "fault on the line" which knocked out our phone line and internet connection for a few days. After a visit from an outlook engineer, we had connection restored, only our speed had no dropped to anywhere between 1 and 2mb max.

      We have been struggling with Sky's customer service ever since. three more times we phoned, and again were informed of a fault on the line, and told we'd receive a call back within 48 hours. We never once received a call. Now tonight, in our 8th month since this happened, sky have turned round and told us the fastest speed we can get is only 2mb. Forget the fact that we were sold this connection as "the speed you see is the speed you'll get", also let's ignore the fact when we queried this WITH SKY they said we'd actually only get around 4mb. Sky told us themselves that we would get 4mb, and we did receive that speed, so why the hell can we now ONLY achieve a maximum of 2mb?

      If it wasn't for a few channels on sky, i would actually sell my soul to the devil and return back to Virgin for the whole package.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      bulmasman's Avatar
      bulmasman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5db 31.5db
      Noise Margin 6.4db 7.0db

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      Going by that that is the most you can get - you're on a long line going by that attenuation. How are you set up (as in what's plugged in where)?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      bulmasman's Avatar
      bulmasman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      I was expecting that to be the reply i'd receive, I'm just confused as to how i was running at a constant 4-5mb before the so called fault on the line.

      Using the main socket with a filter for line into the router

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      There are a few things that can cause this.

      Firstly, could you correct your profile. Currently your email address is showing. Unless you love lots of Spam, you may want to remove it from view.

      Has there been any work on the telephones in your area recently?

      It might help also to know which telephone exchange you are with. Some have been experiencing specific problems and it would be nice to eliminate you from that issue.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      bulmasman's Avatar
      bulmasman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      Thanks for the heads up about my email address heh, it should be hidden now hopefully. As far as work done recently, i'm unsure, though tonight specifically there was work done at the exchange, though that doesn't really change anything considering this problem has been going on for months now.

      My exchange is...

      Exchange name: Roath
      Exchange code: SWRTH
      Location: Cardiff Wales

    9. #8
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      Agree that your current stats couldn't hold the old speed.

      Unless your line has just degraded over time and is therefore unable to get back the speeds that it was once able to handle.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #9
      bulmasman's Avatar
      bulmasman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      I'm guessing it must have degraded or something then, as for the first 4 months we had absolutely zero problems.

      oh well, thanks for the help guys

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Very slow speeds

      It is a pity you do not have a record of your previous stats, taken prior to the 'fault on the line'. I am thinking that the fault has not been fixed properly and this is increasing your attenuation. Your present figure of 63.5 is the maximum your router will show with your current mode. This could actually be up in the 70s. To get 4Mb I would think your previous attenuation would be under 60db. Getting BTO to admit they may have made a mistake is almost impossible, so I am afraid you may just have to accept it, until the the fault deteriorates so badly that you loose connection again. Then it may be fixed properly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION