Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
    Results 81 to 84 of 84

    Sync started acting up?

    This is a discussion on Sync started acting up? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Not sure this thread needs adding to but for update/interest: I have had sky contacts from several people all of ...

    1. #81
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Not sure this thread needs adding to but for update/interest:
      I have had sky contacts from several people all of which has resulted in a new router and a second BTO visit today. Needless to say its still not fixed and BTO said the line is ok and must be sky equipment in exchange
      He left me after a 15min visit and wasnt the chattiest of people
      The line then was :
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 99:53:45
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 442 725 0 0 0 0:04:03
      LAN 82673 53094 0 0 0 99:53:45
      WLAN 528871 427122 0 0 0 99:53:20
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2923 kbps 743 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.5 db 38.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 9.3 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      Now it is:
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 103:26:23
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 731 548 0 0 0 0:44:51
      LAN 113250 77936 0 0 0 103:26:23
      WLAN 532269 429019 0 0 0 103:25:58
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1281 kbps 756 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 db 38.5 db
      Noise Margin 16.8 db 9.6 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      I shall be off to BT around 11th May ( not much option really) and I see that the latest comment from BT indicates FTTC starting on June 30th so fingers crossed
      Stuart


    2. Advertisement
    3. #82
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Try rebooting. Your speed will probably go up again. It looks like you are having noise spikes on your line which are causing the margin to drop and disconnect your line. After the spike passes your margin goes back up, but with the system in use your speed will not until you resync with the higher margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #83
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Isitme - appreciate your comment but how often am I to reboot
      It just crashes again so thats not really getting me anywhere
      Stuart

    5. #84
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Each time your noise margin falls. I am not suggesting it as a permanent solution, only till your line gets fixed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION