Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 84

    Sync started acting up?

    This is a discussion on Sync started acting up? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hmm - - -router stats lite keeps crashing after about half hour with red line zonking to bottom of graph ...

    1. #71
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Hmm - - -router stats lite keeps crashing after about half hour with red line zonking to bottom of graph
      Router is still up n running though!
      Will try the full version methinks.
      Stuart


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Oh - -that dont work either
      need to ivestigate the lite a bit more.
      Stuart

    4. #73
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Agh - - lite wont run for more than 25 mins before it loses connection to router
      Giving up on that
      Just checked the stats:

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 21:22:02
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 978 991 0 0 0 0:12:22
      LAN 103953 66922 0 0 0 21:22:02
      WLAN 223182 153242 0 0 0 0:09:07
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1475 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 db 38.3 db
      Noise Margin 10.1 db 16.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)
      Down again
      Stuart

    5. #74
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Hmm...

      For the record I hadn't hear of it prior to joining this forum, so I can't take all the credit. I have tried it and found it useful in the past. From memory I think it is on Fuzzy Logic signature.

      I am wondering what may be causing it to fail.

      * the router isn't compatible with the tool (it is new)

      * the drop in connection is at fault

      * the router is too slow to respond

      I have found that the new Sagem 2304n has a painfully slow user interface. Is this the router which you have? I've been busy today and haven't been able to go through the whole thread.

      If it is the Sagem 2304n you have, I will have a go of setting up the software on a PC to see if I can get it working there.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #75
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      "Is this the router which you have? "

      tbh - -I am assuming its the same one I had before - - - looks the same black etc but I dont see any model no: All thats on the box is "Phase 2 A grade router 14283
      1.5sky"
      There is a serial number and mac address also.
      Incidentally - -the stats 10 mins after my last posted were:

      router Statistics

      System Up Time: 21:27:02
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1611 1595 0 0 0 0:17:22
      LAN 107111 69234 0 0 0 21:27:02
      WLAN 224006 153952 0 0 0 0:14:07
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1475 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 db 38.3 db
      Noise Margin 17.8 db 15.9 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      Noise margins like a yoyo!
      Stuart

    7. #76
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      In term of looks, a couple of significant differences between the Sagem 2504 and the Sagemcom 2304n are:

      * the Sagem 2504, like the Netgear v2 DG934G, has a dull grey case, with pitting like a golf ball

      * the Sagemcom 2304n has a grey top & black underside, with no pitting. The underside is reflective. The manufacturer's name is moulded into the top side of the case

      * the Sagem 2504 has a colourful label on the underside with the default WiFi login details for the router

      * the Sagemcom 2304n has a black label with some white boxes where the default WiFi login details are

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #77
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Scubbie - - It would seem to be a Sagem 2504 based on your description.
      Stuart

    9. #78
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      In this case, Router Stats - Lite has a specific option for the Sky Sagem 2504 in the settings and should work without any issue.

      Could I ask you to double check that you have picked the correct options and that it is still playing up?

      For the record, after going through this post I did download and install the software on my main desktop. I managed to get it to monitor the Sagemcom 2304n, but only on download speed, not noise margin.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #79
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Tried it again but same response
      Red line after about 8 mins!
      Router is correctly identified in the selection box and it starts tracking ok but then there is a fall off as described.
      Stuart

    11. #80
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Quote Originally Posted by basalt2003 View Post
      Tried it again but same response
      Red line after about 8 mins!
      Router is correctly identified in the selection box and it starts tracking ok but then there is a fall off as described.
      Ok, in this case it is safe to assume that the software is performing correctly and there is a fault.

      This thread is getting a little long, so please do forgive me if I am covering ground which you have already been through.

      I would be inclined to take the new router to a friend's home, who also has Sky BB and see how it performs there.

      If you have a known good router of your own, it may be worth extracting the Sky router's password and connecting your own one to get things working smoothly.

      If this fails as well, then you definitely have a line fault.

      Taking the Sky router to a friend's home would prove/disprove the router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      basalt2003 (22-04-11)

     

     
    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION