Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 84

    Sync started acting up?

    This is a discussion on Sync started acting up? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Returned latter and said he would contact sky to get them to raise cap? from 4 to 8 meg I ...

    1. #61
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Returned latter and said he would contact sky to get them to raise cap? from 4 to 8 meg
      I don't know if the guy was intentionally stirring up trouble, but there is no way you would get 8Mb with your line length, 4 would be more like it.

      Your last stats show a healthy noise margin, so there is a lot of room for improvement. They should be able to get you up to a stable 4Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      so there is a lot of room for improvement. They should be able to get you up to a stable 4Mb.
      Thats the problem though - - Its not stable and keeps falling

      latest after "another" reboot of router!
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:01:23
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 57 54 0 152 277 0:00:34
      LAN 1310 494 0 2820 0 0:01:23
      WLAN 531 200 0 1759 1506 0:01:01
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 16.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      Same as yesterday after BTO "fixed" it but it dropped an hour or so after - - - -so will check again around an hour latter
      Stuart

    4. #63
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Have you noticed it happening at the same times everyday or has it been sporadic?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. #64
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      Have you noticed it happening at the same times everyday or has it been sporadic?
      Pretty much sporadic really but here we are at 1.45

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 1:26:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 530 426 0 80 80 0:31:26
      LAN 10302 6068 0 148 148 1:26:11
      WLAN 3086 2070 0 36 28 1:25:49
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1792 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 16.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      So how longs that since the reboot
      Stuart

    6. #65
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Well - another update.
      After several phone conversations and continued drops in speed/sync I was "escalated" to "Team network que"
      Another phone conversation with them still sees the line as an issue and "May" require another BTO visit but I did suggest the router may also be on the fritz so the guy agreed eventually. As I said "whats to lose?". I will return router if its not at fault and it would be quicker than another costly line check.
      So I am to expect router on Monday.
      Watch this space I guess.
      My line has been set at around 2 meg as it seems to go wonky if sky try to up it any higher. I would post the stats but am on my Ipad at the moment
      Stuart

    7. #66
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 45:56:13
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 54863 76303 0 156 4813 18:35:01
      LAN 209975 132048 0 0 0 45:56:13
      WLAN 242094 202398 0 4991 240 45:55:51
      Here are latest:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1655 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 db 38.0 db
      Noise Margin 18.3 db 16.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)
      Stuart

    8. #67
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Robert, on the official Sky Help Forum, has suggested that replacement routers are taking between 5-10 days to arrive from when they are ordered.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #68
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Well here I am with new router which arrived yesterday - - it seems same as last one.
      Got it setup yesterday but I forgot to take initial stats
      But three hours latter I get:
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 4:27:43
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3589 4073 0 0 0 0:30:00
      LAN 23221 12031 0 0 0 4:27:43
      WLAN 58479 47361 0 0 0 4:27:16
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1497 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 db 38.2 db
      Noise Margin 17.4 db 16.1 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      So my issue is line related - - suppose.
      Anyway I have setup in test socket again this morning and its showing:

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 13:50:35
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 430 1004 0 364 19799 0:00:24
      LAN 25266 13802 0 0 0 13:50:35
      WLAN 93810 80946 0 20849 462 13:50:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 38.2 db
      Noise Margin 13.8 db 16.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      I expect it to drop again in a few hours so will check back - -which reminds me - -
      Sky guy never got back to me on Monday like he said he would
      Ah well - - I have another life.
      My other plan of moving to BT is underway and I guess I will get same line issues with them too
      However,there is my hope that when the infinity rollout arrives here in September I will have that option
      Stuart

    10. #69
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      It may be worth you connecting a PC to your router and have it monitor the connection for a day or so,

      Download and install Router Stats - Lite.

      If the issue is with a bad connection on your line, remember that this can still occur when you transfer back to BT.

      If the issue is with the last connection to the Sky equipment, then perhaps a call chasing Sky to resolve the issue is in order. Obviously you are expecting a call back, but this can actually work in your advantage now. You have a 'ticket' which is logged on the system an should be patched through to CST promptly.

      It does happen that a node on the Sky equipment becomes faulty or has a faulty connection. My initial connection was like this and it was easily corrected.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #70
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Scubbie - -thats a neat little gizzmo
      Thanks - -got it set up - - - I will prolly need to stop my pc from sleeping as I am not sure if it would shut down the router stats - -
      Stuart

     

     
    Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION