Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 84

    Sync started acting up?

    This is a discussion on Sync started acting up? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Due to a large amount of replacement routers being sent out incorrectly, when the original wasn't faulty, replacement process has ...

    1. #41
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Due to a large amount of replacement routers being sent out incorrectly, when the original wasn't faulty, replacement process has changed. A new router won't just be sent to rule it out, it'll be sent if yours is thought to be faulty.

      I'd suggest to await the call-back and see where it goes from there.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Is it the CST router replacement policy that has changed.

      Usually thats the first thing done, sometimes regardless of the issue.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #43
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      I only work a couple days a week, so information I give may be out-dated in some cases, but replacement policy has changed for CST since the 1st April. When 'Sky Answers' suggests the router is faulty, then the SPM case is moved into a temp queue for the 'network team' to pick it up and replace if they deem necessary.

    5. #44
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Cool

      It does say in sky answers to replace the router a great deal of the time.

      Most of the time you know that its not the issue.

      It says to replace the router a large amount of the time for wireless, even though we are blindly stabbing in the dark when we choose a channel.

      Would be better if we could get them to download inSSIDer or run
      netsh wlan show all.

      While not true in all cases CST tend to replace routers a large amount of the time as the first TS step.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #45
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      While not true in all cases CST tend to replace routers a large amount of the time as the first TS step.
      Exactly why we all have to follow stupid procedures now, because too many morons would replace routers when it's not necessary.

    7. #46
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Exactly why we all have to follow stupid procedures now, because too many morons would replace routers when it's not necessary.
      There was a brilliant one not long ago.

      Someone in CST sent out a new router because a customer was having high ping times issues at peaks. Since they were on a "Gamer Profile" the person must have been confused.

      The issue was that they were being affected by the backhaul issues.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #47
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Interestingly - - my earlier point about BTO installing new FTTC cabinets at the same time my line problems occurred may still be relevant?
      But if I ask for that to be investigated - I would bet that a replacement router may be considered
      Stuart

    9. #48
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Quote Originally Posted by basalt2003 View Post
      Interestingly - - my earlier point about BTO installing new FTTC cabinets at the same time my line problems occurred may still be relevant?
      But if I ask for that to be investigated - I would bet that a replacement router may be considered
      User05 is in CST therefore would know more than me.

      CST can be the same as another other call centre, there are great people and their are idiots. There was a time not that long ago when as soon as they got a case they sent out a new router and closed the case.

      It is possible that it could cause a problem though if BT are installing a new cab as they are going to be messing about with the wiring.

      Hopefully the end result for you might be the option of FTTC should you wish to chose it.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #49
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      [Hopefully the end result for you might be the option of FTTC should you wish to chose it]
      Well it shows as being set for September
      I noticed on another thread that the lack of sky not providing information on its likely inception was the reason most folks with my mediocre connection speeds jumped ship so to speak - - that will prolly be true for me too in September
      Stuart

    11. #50
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync started acting up?

      Quote Originally Posted by basalt2003 View Post
      [Hopefully the end result for you might be the option of FTTC should you wish to chose it]
      Well it shows as being set for September
      I noticed on another thread that the lack of sky not providing information on its likely inception was the reason most folks with my mediocre connection speeds jumped ship so to speak - - that will prolly be true for me too in September
      I am only in Tier 1 and we are the last to hear about anything.

      The most we have heard is rumours of it currently being tested.

      User05 might know more as CST tend to get briefed on things that we don't

      You can't really blame people for jumping ship if their speeds are terrible. Although Sky may not be able to provide more on ADSL technology it still wouldn't make me happy having less than 4Mb.

      The minimum specification for to qualify for the term "Broadband" is 4Mb.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

     

     
    Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION