Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

    This is a discussion on Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Had some configuration problems with my router (a Trendnet TEW-435BRM) and had to power cycle it a few times. I ...

    1. #1
      anewman's Avatar
      anewman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      Had some configuration problems with my router (a Trendnet TEW-435BRM) and had to power cycle it a few times. I used it for the increased range and an apparent incompatibility with a blu-ray player's youtube feature of the Sky router. Had problems connecting with my new Android phone and power cycling the router made it work. I have now gone back to Sky's supplied Sagem F@st 2504 hoping this solves that issue. However my connect speed is now half what it was.

      Should I just leave it turned on a while and hope to get the speed back later?

      TIA.
      Currently getting:
      DownStream Connection Speed 20598
      UpStream Connection Speed 1150


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      Can you post your Router Stats?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #3
      anewman's Avatar
      anewman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9213 kbps 1113 kbps
      Line Attenuation 12.5 db 6.7 db
      Noise Margin 12.9 db 9.2 db
      Currently getting:
      DownStream Connection Speed 20598
      UpStream Connection Speed 1150

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      There is currently room for improvement.

      Is your current setup
      Master socket > microfilter > short sky supplied ADSL cable > router?

      Could you post your stas from the test socket for comparison?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      Clearly DLM has jumped in here after seeing a inconsistant pattern in line stats.

      Basically what DLM will do is if it sees your line connections have become intermittent.
      It will suddenly think "The speeds too high for the line, so im going to drop the speed to see if this improves the stability".

      Now that you have stoped resetting it its seeing a nice stable connection at half the speed and thinks a job well done.

      You can leave it to chance that it will be just as quick on its toes to increase it, but unlikely.
      Obviously on LLU equiptment if over 7mbps so just call sky real quick.
      Speak to tier 1 wait for them to call CST and increase your line speeds.

      Nice and quick.

    7. #6
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      You could also say to tier 1 that you need a line reconfig. It might save time if they can do it.

      Sometimes CST stop taking calls due to backlogged tickets and therefore it can take 72hrs before they call you back.

      Side note sky answers does ask if they line is configured incorrectly and to get a TL to reconfig it if it is.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #7
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      Side note sky answers does ask if they line is configured incorrectly and to get a TL to reconfig it if it is.
      Atleast its correct on one or two things then :P

    9. #8
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      Quote Originally Posted by SkyCST View Post
      Atleast its correct on one or two things then :P
      It has mostly correct info but the order is terrible at best.

      Since it was brought in it stops people from using their own knowledge which isnt a good thing.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #9
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      To be fair some info is correct.

      But some of it is just ridiculous. But still agents follow it.

      You're right about people not thinking for themselves as of it tho.

    11. #10
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Power cycled router quite a bit, now connect speed down

      We actually got told that we weren't allowed to think for ourselves and had to follow it word for word even if we new better.

      Internet light green could be solved so much faster if it wasn't used. It always says to get the DNS from DHCP as opposed to entering them manually.

      Don't think it mentions pinging an ip address either
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION