Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

    This is a discussion on Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The connection keeps dropping every hour or sooner, I have changed channels and added the ip address + dns etc. ...

    1. #1
      bunglebonze's Avatar
      bunglebonze is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      The connection keeps dropping every hour or sooner, I have changed channels and added the ip address + dns etc.

      It shows that it is still connected but a sunshine icon (windows 7) comes up on the wireless icon and even though I can see the router it doesn't connect to internet. When I turn the router off and on again it connects again and works.

      Just recently changed from plusnet where it worked perfectly so it is not a line or adsl problem

      Any ideas what to do?
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      Quote Originally Posted by bunglebonze View Post
      The connection keeps dropping every hour or sooner, I have changed channels and added the ip address + dns etc.

      It shows that it is still connected but a sunshine icon (windows 7) comes up on the wireless icon and even though I can see the router it doesn't connect to internet. When I turn the router off and on again it connects again and works.

      Just recently changed from plusnet where it worked perfectly so it is not a line or adsl problem

      Any ideas what to do?
      Thanks
      Can you post your Router Stats?

      Is the issue only occurring when you connect wirelessly?

      Have you checked what channels are being use by your neighbours?

      open command prompt

      type netsh wlan show all

      then scroll down and check what channels are in use.
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 29-03-11 at 07:18 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #3
      bunglebonze's Avatar
      bunglebonze is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      Thanks, checked the channels on the Command Prompt and neighbours are different, it also drops when connected to the network cable:

      Stats below

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1533 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 68.5 dB 45.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.9 dB 9.8 dB

      Hope your still there!

    5. #4
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      just give the damn router a kick that usally does it lol

    6. #5
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      Quote Originally Posted by bunglebonze View Post
      Thanks, checked the channels on the Command Prompt and neighbours are different, it also drops when connected to the network cable:

      Stats below

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1533 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 68.5 dB 45.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.9 dB 9.8 dB

      Hope your still there!
      Judging by your attenuation you are around 5km from the exchange

      With your attenuation your max is likely going to be around 2Mb

      Your line looks as though it is on ADSL2+

      Generally longer lines tend to do better on G.DMT

      Pretty sure that their is a G.DMT profile with 2048/416 8ms max delays and 0 symbol INP

      Does the issue only occur when you are playing online gaming or when you are browsing as well? if it is just when you are gaming it is likely that you are being kicked out of the game as you ping times are too high.

      If you are using an xbox your connection usually goes to red before you are kicked out due to a rising ping. Does this happen to you?

      would it be possible too:
      tracert bbc.co.uk - from command prompt on your PC
      ping bbc.co.uk - from command prompt on your PC

      Do you know the location of the game server that you are connecting too?

      While i am not 100% sure I think Plusnet offer Fastpath which would explain why your gaming was fine with them. While Sky do not offer Fastpath, getting an 8ms max delay(Gamer Profile) set usually does the trick.

      Is your current setup master socket>microfilter>short sky ADSL cable>router?
      Do you have a test socket?

      If you have a test socket it might not be a bad idea to connect to it and post your stats for comparison to see if your internal wiring is having an effect on your SNR.
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 29-03-11 at 10:06 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #6
      bunglebonze's Avatar
      bunglebonze is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      i think it maybe a channel conflict (I tried 5), thanks for the wlan show all prompt, very useful

    8. #7
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      Quote Originally Posted by bunglebonze View Post
      i think it maybe a channel conflict (I tried 5), thanks for the wlan show all prompt, very useful
      No problem if changing the channel doesn't resolve the issue i recommend trying the other suggestions.

      Hopefully it will be just the channel as it means you won't have to spend any more time trying to resolve the issue.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #8
      bunglebonze's Avatar
      bunglebonze is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      It happens when browsing and gaming (via Ps3)

      don't know where the game server is, but I have tracert and ping bbc.co.uk, what do you need to know from the results?

      Also how do I change to the 8ms max delay? I'm new to this

      Thanks again

    10. #9
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      Quote Originally Posted by bunglebonze View Post
      It happens when browsing and gaming (via Ps3)

      I have tracert and ping bbc.co.uk, what do you need to know from the results?

      Also how do I change to the 8ms max delay? I'm new to this
      For the delay you would have to call sky to get it set.

      For the ping all that is needed is the bit at the end min,max and average.

      For the tracert just copy all of it.

      Is your current setup master socket>microfilter>short sky ADSL cable>router?
      Do you have a test socket?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sky keeps dropping out - worked fine on Plusnet

      Quote Originally Posted by bunglebonze View Post
      Just recently changed from plusnet where it worked perfectly so it is not a line or adsl problem
      Don't assume this. I made the same mistake at first when I first connected.

      You are now connected to a different set of equipment in the telephone exchange. Whilst it is likely that you are using the same wires between your home and the exchange, it is likely that a BTO engineer could have changed the connections in between.

      A simple way to check this to some degree is to pick up your corded telephone (not a wireless one) and dial '1'. If you hear any noise then it is definitely a line fault.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION