Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

    This is a discussion on How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I just got my sk router installed today and was wandering is there anything in the router information in ...

    1. #1
      skyuser2011's Avatar
      skyuser2011 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eltham
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      Hi I just got my sk router installed today and was wandering is there anything in the router information in the admin panel that can indicate if it is on DLM training or not?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      Simply yes

      Check the router stats and look at the WAN uptime and minus that from the current time. If the time is between 1-6am then it is likely that you are going through DLM optimization process.

      If you don't know how to get to the router stats there is a link in my signature on how.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      DLM will kick in sometime over the next 3 or 4 days. don't worry too much, just leave your router connected and powered on during the next 2 weeks.

      The only indications will be when you look at the Router Stats & compare the WAN uptime with the LAN uptime.

      Typically DLM will reset during the night at around 2-3am. the actual window is 1am to 6am.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      Might be a good idea to post your stats and we can give you an indication of the speed that you are likely to receive when DLM is finished.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      skyuser2011
      Hi another way is to log in to your My Sky. Then click on Broadband. It will show you the date when DLM started and will say that it will run for 10 days from that date and to keep checking to see when DLM is finished.

    7. #6
      skyuser2011's Avatar
      skyuser2011 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eltham
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      Here are my current router stats.

      Screen shot 2011-03-29 at 18.36.57 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

      Also I was under the impression that MER meant my ip address was static but having just done a lookup in says it is dynamic. I prefer dynamin to static but am just a bit puzzled as to how I hav a dynamic ip when I thought that mer was for static ips.

    8. #7
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      With your attenuation 6Mb is about the max you are likely to receive.

      As it currently stands there is no room for improvement

      Unsure if DLM is still running as it looks like your line disconnected from the exchange around 3pm going by the line uptime and the time the photo was uploaded.

      If DLM is still running hopefully it will try your line on G.DMT and see if there is any improvement

      Is your current setup master socket>microfilter>sky ADSL cable>router?

      Do you have a test socket?

      I also thought MER provided static ip's although i think it is still possible to have dynamic.
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 29-03-11 at 08:41 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      The issue of Static IP addresses has been discussed.

      Certainly Sky have never stated that they are intending to make all out IP Addresses static.

      Personally I believe that with the lack of spare IPv4 addresses, they are in a position that most of their existing numbers are taken. This means that the pool of remaining numbers is getting smaller.

      Since some have suggested that IP addresses are being given geographical areas, this further reduces the number of spare IP addresses.

      If you were to disconnect you router from the Internet over night (not recommended during DLM) you would likely receive a new IP address in the morning.

      IPv6 is likely to be rolled out later this year. This will bring a whole new ball game to everyone.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      skyuser2011's Avatar
      skyuser2011 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eltham
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      Thanks everyone My connection has now slowed right down so I can only assume that DLM has kicked in.

      The phone socket which the sky router is plugged into I believe is the master socket but it is in a very hard to reach place so testing it will be quite difficult but from what you have said my attenuation indicates a possible speed which is the best estimate I have had out of 3 ISPs I have been with in my time online so as it seems a DLM has started or is preparing to I will wait until it finishes and then if necessary test the master socket if things don't seem right.

      As far as my IP address I was just under the impression that MER meant static and was confused when a lookup came back as Dynamic but as you say due to IP shortage I suppose we can't take anything meaning the same for one user as it did for another.

      Thanks again everyone.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: How can I find out if my router is in DLM mode.

      It does seem that the IP addresses are 'sticky' rather than fixed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION