Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Which Router

    This is a discussion on Which Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have a DLINK 2640R but have insane connection drops, I have updated the firmware and will see how that ...

    1. #1
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Which Router

      I have a DLINK 2640R but have insane connection drops, I have updated the firmware and will see how that works for me. Sky sent me a new Sagecom router but I have been told these are awful routers. I also can not get 2 XBOX consoles connected both with open NAT for some reason. So have gone back to the DLINK. I am looking into getting a new router. I have read good things about latest DLINK and Linksys models, mixed reviews regarding Netgear.

      Seen as those are the big 3 players in the router market, can anyone point me in the direction of what Router to buy? Thats Sky BB compatible, will have 2 open NAT for XBOX, and is generally a good reliable router. I asked Sky to send me a DLINK2640S but they sent the Sagecom :-(


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      I have a DLINK 2640R but have insane connection drops
      Are you sure this is the fault of the router and not your line? Did you try your Sky router, does it drop?

      Sky sent me a new Sagecom router but I have been told these are awful routers.
      Did you try it? Some with these routers are having problems, but not everyone. They have a faster wireless standard than the previous routers including your 2640R and may support Open NAT on 2 xboxes. You will not know till you try.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      I have been on phone to Sky 3 times, the third time they changed line settings, and re-profiled my line, whatever that means, all came back clear, he said only thing it could be is wiring, or router. The connection drops 5 or 6 times in the day.

      I told the guy I have an ADSL equipped master socket faceplate, which has been replaced with a new one just to be safe with the same results, so he has eliminated wiring and told me it is the router. I got sent the Sagem, I have not tested it due to reading various reports of non open NAT on 2 consoles, this is a deal breaker for me. I will try it and see. But alternatively, a new router is due for me anyways, so wondering what DLINK / Linksys / Netgear models are available with 2 open NAT, and wireless that perform well. I asked this question 2 years ago and everyone rushed me with DLINK 2640R which has lived a good life but now time to upgrade.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      You would do well to connect the Sagem and test it. If it cures the drops, OK, think about a new router. If it doesn't, you have wasted your money.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      Perhaps it would be better to start with the basics?

      You've mentioned that you line keeps dropping, it might help us to understand why the line is dropping. From there Tom (Isitme), and a few others, will be better able to comment.

      The first step to help us would be for you to post your stats.

      Next, could you confirm whether you are using either the Master socket or Test socket?

      Have you at any time changed the Micro-filter/s?

      Also could you confirm how you are connecting to the router? i.e. WiFi or Ethernet Cable

      Finally, have you checked the telephone line quality? A simple way to achieve this would be to use a telephone with a cord and dial '1' and listen for any noise on the line. Pay attention to any potential hissing or crackling. A wireless phone is not good for this test.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      Stats from DLINK 2640R

      Mode: ADSL2 PLUS
      Type: ANNEX_A
      Status: Showtime

      Downstream Upstream
      Rate (Kbps): 7146 kbps 853 kbps

      SNR Margin (dB): 10.2 11.5
      Attenuation (dB): 43.0 26.1
      Output Power (dBm): 20.3 12.3

      Super Frames: 1159901 1159895
      RS Correctable Errors: 15790 143
      RS Uncorrectable Errors: 6 56

      HEC Errors: 93 0
      Total Cells: 39540 33980
      Data Cells: 24202751 4752572
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      Connected via Ethernet, directly to master socket (via Microfilter Faceplate)

      Telephone line with a old fashioned phone is clear as a bell.

    8. #7
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      Do these stats looks normal?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      The noise margin is high, probably because the line has been capped due to the drop outs. Have you checked if the connection still drops using the router supplied by Sky, maybe you could post the stats from your Sky router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      I tried the Sky Router today and it is still dropping, just borrowed a Netgear and its working fine it seems, too early to tell much, but the worst times was daytime and its been fine. So maybe a new router is what I need? Will try sort some stats out, but in the meantime, can anyone suggest a router for me? One that has 2 open NATS on XBOX

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which Router

      Have a look at this article -
      Two Xboxes using one router Internet connection

      This recommends among others, the router you have at the moment. I have also read on the forum that the Dlink 2640S version supplied by Sky supports double NAT right out of the box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION