Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Training Period

    This is a discussion on Training Period within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So what happens during this? I was syncing at 4Mbit/s on ADSL Max, and getting a throughput of around 3Mbit/s ...

    1. #1
      Elmlea's Avatar
      Elmlea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSELG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Training Period

      So what happens during this?

      I was syncing at 4Mbit/s on ADSL Max, and getting a throughput of around 3Mbit/s on a good day, which is fairly reasonable. Sky reckoned with an attenuation of 45dB I'd manage up to 9.5Mbit/s, but any increase over the 3 I was getting would be good.

      So far, on day 2, it's still just syncing at 4Mbit/s with no change at all. It hasn't tried a more rapid IP profile, or synced any quicker. So what goes on; do I need to ring and get my IP profile changed, or do I need to prompt anything?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      There is no IP profile for LLU. The line will start at either 4096/512 or 4096/608. Profile optimisation will start within 72 hours and run for up to 10 days.

      Sky will not suspend this and manually profile it before the first PO has been completed. All you need to do is leave the router on and let DLM do its thing.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      DLM can take up to 72 hours to start.

      Just ensure that you leave the Sky router plugged into the Master Socket & powered on all the time for the next two weeks.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Elmlea's Avatar
      Elmlea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSELG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      Thanks both of you. 4096/608 right now, so I'll just wait 2 weeks and see how we go.

      Will I see any actual changes while it goes through PO?

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      Yes. DLM collates data (error snapshots, retrains, SNRs etc.) throughout the day and based upon said data, it'll choose a profile to try. This will typically occur between the hours of 1-6am, thus you'll see different stats come the next day.

    7. #6
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      Let us know how you get on
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      Sky reckoned with an attenuation of 45dB I'd manage up to 9.5Mbit/s
      I think that is being overly optimistic. 7-8 would be good with 45db.

      Post your stats for a more realistic estimate.
      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Elmlea's Avatar
      Elmlea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSELG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think that is being overly optimistic. 7-8 would be good with 45db.

      Post your stats for a more realistic estimate.
      How to get your router statistics
      Sure thing; I figured it'd be an optimistic stab at it, that's just what the blurb threw at me when I enquired. Having spent my life in some pretty rural places, if it manages an actual throughput of anything around 5Mbit/s, that'll be faster than I've ever managed! For the last 3-4 years I've been getting sync speeds of 4Mbit/s at best.

      Anyway, line stats:

      Downstream: Sync speed 4857kbps, attenuation 45.0dB, noise margin 8.0db.
      Upstream: Sync speed 945kbps, attenuation 26.9dB, noise margin 11.6dB.

      What do you think that'll equate to?

    10. #9
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      Quote Originally Posted by Elmlea View Post
      Sure thing; I figured it'd be an optimistic stab at it, that's just what the blurb threw at me when I enquired. Having spent my life in some pretty rural places, if it manages an actual throughput of anything around 5Mbit/s, that'll be faster than I've ever managed! For the last 3-4 years I've been getting sync speeds of 4Mbit/s at best.

      Anyway, line stats:

      Downstream: Sync speed 4857kbps, attenuation 45.0dB, noise margin 8.0db.
      Upstream: Sync speed 945kbps, attenuation 26.9dB, noise margin 11.6dB.

      What do you think that'll equate to?
      As long as your line is clear of errors hopefully DLM will not apply INP and therefore increase your sync.

      Have you tried connecting to the test socket?

      If not might be a good idea to connect to it and repost your stats.

      I could be wrong but with your current SNR i can't really see it getting 8Mb

      Although it looks like its currently on ADSL2+ configured to around 4864/992
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Training Period

      DLM has started so let it run and see what happens. As suggested with a noise margin of only 8db, there is not room for much more improvement, but it is surprising what DLM can do.

      If you have extension sockets it is always worth while trying the Test socket, internal wiring can have a very bad effect on your broadband speed. You will probably not see an increase in your speed, but you may see an increase in your noise margin. How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      Check too, that the filter is the first thing plugged into any socket that is in use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION