Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 39 of 39

    Problem that has just got worse

    This is a discussion on Problem that has just got worse within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by playwithfire Just come off the phone to Sky. He rang me back after he'd tried different things. ...

    1. #31
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      Quote Originally Posted by playwithfire View Post
      Just come off the phone to Sky. He rang me back after he'd tried different things. No better....

      He tried the G.DMT profile and said that it made it worse. He seemed to know what he was on about. He said that he will pass it on to someone higher up and that they will probably send another engineer out to look in more detail.

      He said that there are a lot of errors on the line. All he tried, He couldn't get it any better. He seemed to think that there is a fault on the line, Although the engineer said it was okay.

      As it is 1.3MB at the box down the road (About 1000 meters away) and it's 400kbps here, It's losing a lot there. What do you think?

      On the Sky/Open reach not so merry go round AGAIN........
      Depends really on the type of errors

      there are 3 main types

      Forward errors
      Headline errors
      CRC errors

      Forward - not really that important unless there are a very large amount - can be corrected by changing the INP
      same for headers - not really that important
      CRC - bad errors increasing the max delays can reduced them though

      Can't really disagree with him that much without seeing the stats that he did in LAMA but don't really want to second guess someone if you thought that they new what they were talking about.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      playwithfire's Avatar
      playwithfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      It's 1.3MB at the box down the road (About 1000 meters away) and it's 400kbps here.

      Should it lose that much speed over that distance? I'm not sure how much the speed slows depending on the length of the cable.

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      Sadly the answer is Yes.

      If you look at the graph that I've located from elsewhere on the web you will where the speed droops off.

      There are plenty of other graphs that can support this evidence. If you type 'adsl2+ graph' into your favourite search engine you will see quite a few there. Most of them deal with attenuation figures now, but I managed to locate this one which shows the figures in metres.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Problem that has just got worse-adsl2-speed-graph.jpg  

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      Quote Originally Posted by playwithfire View Post
      It's 1.3MB at the box down the road (About 1000 meters away) and it's 400kbps here.

      Should it lose that much speed over that distance? I'm not sure how much the speed slows depending on the length of the cable.
      Normally Yes, but in your case i am not not so sure.
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 29-03-11 at 12:39 AM. Reason: Grammer correction
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #35
      playwithfire's Avatar
      playwithfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      Update, Spoke to Sky today and the speed has mysteriously gone back up????? Sky said that they haven't done anything since last time I spoke to them. They asked if I had changed any of the equipment etc..... But I haven't. Everything is exactly the same.

      These are the stats now,

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 39:55:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4537 5498 0 1069 2803 00:34:01
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 89696 71561 0 44961 9903 00:33:50
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1507 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 76.0db 50.1db
      Noise Margin 7.1db 8.0db

      Can you let me know if there is anything here that would suggest anything.

      Thanks to everyone that has helped me on this forum, I just hope that it doesn't go back down again.

      Hope that I don't have to ring Sky back anytime soon.

    7. #36
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      Maybe DLM kicked in as the line was underperforming. Looks like a reconfiguration has now been done as your SNR is now around the expected 7db mark.

      I am still thinking you might get a bit more out of that line on G.DMT.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #37
      playwithfire's Avatar
      playwithfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      Had problems again. OMG..........

      Went back down again to 400kbps. Rang Sky, Lady on the phone was sooooo frustrating to talk to, No help at all.

      I have noticed that when my speed drops the Noise Margin goes up to around 14 or 15db and when my speed goes back up it goes down to around 7db.

      What is Noise Margin and what would make the number go up/down so much?

      Thanks.

    9. #38
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      That's because when the speed drops you are no longer maxing out your connection.

      Noise margin is a signal to noise ratio give as a margin in decibels

      Interference would cause the issue.

      Such as cross talk from other lines. If your line is above ground wind could also cause the issue

      Might not be a bad idea to call and ask to be placed on G.DMT.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem that has just got worse

      I have noticed that when my speed drops the Noise Margin goes up to around 14 or 15db and when my speed goes back up it goes down to around 7db.
      It looks like you are having noise spikes on your line. When these occur the noise margin drops, the connection then drops and resyncs at a speed the line can handle. When the noise reduces, the noise margin rises again. This drop, resync and rise in noise margin can take place over a very short period, possibly only a few seconds. When this does happen, you should get your original speed back by resyncing your router again, but how long it lasts depends on how often these noise spikes occur. Apart from finding out what is causing the noise spikes, there is not a lot you can do about it.

      As already suggested, your line may perform better on G.DMT, you should ask them to try your line on this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION