Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39

    Not getting Speed Router Says

    This is a discussion on Not getting Speed Router Says within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hope someone can help. I have had Sky broadband for only 3 weeks but it has been great - getting ...

    1. #1
      PhilJ52's Avatar
      PhilJ52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not getting Speed Router Says

      Hope someone can help.

      I have had Sky broadband for only 3 weeks but it has been great - getting 5.5Mb download and much better than BT.

      Today however it has really slowed down...so....

      I've rebooted, reset, cleared cache, checked PC etc etc done all the usual things - still only getting less than 1Mb.

      Rang Sky and they showed mt how look at the Router and check what IT was getting and its around the 5.5Mb They also tested and confirmed that speed.

      Nothing has changed in my configuration - What could be causing the slowness?

      Help greatly appreciated


      Phil


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      Can you post your Router stats?

      Your are probably on connect

      Is your upload speed 448kbps?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      Could you post your router stats please?

      Also can you confirm where the router is plugged in? (i.e. extension, master socket)

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      PhilJ52's Avatar
      PhilJ52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      Thanks for the interest and hopefully help.

      Router Stats as below...not sure how to paste the full page.

      The router is on an extension but hasnt been moved and nothing has changed since initial setup and having things working fine and fast.



      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 1:42:17

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 21675 23312 0 4530190 20683221 1:40:38
      LAN Up 23510 20206 0 17553388 4998960 1:42:17
      WLAN Up 12815 10804 0 7531622 2250135 1:42:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5586 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 dB 21.4 dB
      Noise Margin 11.4 dB 12.8 dB

      Poll Interval: (secs, at least 3s)

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      That was useful.

      It is possible that you would benefit from plugging your router into the Test Socket. This is just for the sake of checking your speeds. If could you do this and post your stats again please.

      Whilst performing this, could you also check that the extension (and any others) is dead?

      There is a lot of noise on your line and this alone could help to improve your connection. The speed might not jump, it is all the figures that can create a picture.

      If this is not convenient for the short term, don't panic, there are long-term solutions we can suggest.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      PhilJ52's Avatar
      PhilJ52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      When you say Test Socket - do you mean the master ? And when you say 'dead' I assume you just mean nobody on the phone?

      I just ran the test at speed.io as you all have and it shows only 1.4Mb download.

      How can I paste the stats in a table form?

      Phil

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      Quote Originally Posted by PhilJ52 View Post
      When you say Test Socket - do you mean the master ? And when you say 'dead' I assume you just mean nobody on the phone?
      The test socket is located behind the faceplate of your master socket, if you have a split front. Take a look at this link for pictures:

      Sky User - How to test your Master Socket

      If you haven't got a socket like this, then we'll have to live with the master socket only

      Quote Originally Posted by PhilJ52 View Post
      I just ran the test at speed.io as you all have and it shows only 1.4Mb download.
      For the moment, we'll worry ourselves about the figures on the router. Speed test sites report the figures in a different manner. You can see this in my own signature.

      Quote Originally Posted by PhilJ52 View Post
      How can I paste the stats in a table form?
      Don't worry. Regular helpers are used to being able to read the unformated text of the stats. Just highlight it on the router, copy & paste.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      PhilJ52's Avatar
      PhilJ52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      thanks Scubbie - may be an hour or so before i can get this done ....Tea's ready and she's shouting !!

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      Your speed is a bit low for your attenuation so something is interfering with your connection. Your Test socket stats will show what.

      That aside, your throughput should be much better. Are you on one of the exchanges effected by the backhaul problems. I am not sure if Liverpool iis included in these.

      What you can try is booting a PC into Safe Mode with Networking and do a test here - Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester This will show if anything you have installed is causing the slowdown.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      PhilJ52's Avatar
      PhilJ52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting Speed Router Says

      Ok - just fund the Master - downstairs - and plugged straight into the test socket inside the casing - used laptop....settings as follows;

      Attached doc has the before (upstairs) and Master ...which appears to be slower !!

      Phil
      Attached Files Attached Files

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION