Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    powerline adaptors

    This is a discussion on powerline adaptors within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; afternoon nice friendly people im due to go live on bb ulimited next week, i want to go hardwired for ...

    1. #1
      stjimmy1980's Avatar
      stjimmy1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      powerline adaptors

      afternoon nice friendly people

      im due to go live on bb ulimited next week, i want to go hardwired for ps3, hd box etc.

      i wondered if anybody used powerline adaptors with my than one output hole so i can connect more than one device, if so what makes and experiences do you have with them.

      many thanks jimmy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: powerline adaptors

      Depending on the arrangements that you have in your home, there are a few things that you can do IMHO.

      PowerLine Adapters or HomePlugs only have one port each. Some do have WiFi on one of the pair, but this isn't what you are after.

      What you can do is to connect an old router to the 2nd adapter and use it as a WiFi Switch. This provides you with more LAN ports where you want them and an additional WiFi point. The sky routers aren't that brilliant with WiFi in some cases.

      How to connect two Routers together

      An alternative solution is to purchase more that just two adapters. You can pair up to 8 in some cases to together. Meaning that you have more access points around your home.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: powerline adaptors

      You can get homeplugs with built in switches, such as this
      VESENET SOLWISE 85Mbps HOMEPLUG 3-port ADAPTER PLUG-IN on eBay (end time 22-Apr-11 02:25:53 BST) but I don't know how effective these are. You may be better with a standard homeplug connected to a 4 port switch such as this
      TP-Link 5-Port 10/100 Unmanaged Mini Desktop Switch (TL-SF1005D) Plastic Case: Mcab: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      For its price it gets very good reviews.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      stjimmy1980 (24-03-11)

    6. #4
      stjimmy1980's Avatar
      stjimmy1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: powerline adaptors

      thank you both!

      my reasons are, its a new build flat and the 2 secondary phone points are naff, which housing asociation/builders are responsible, im not gunna ask them to sort it as they will prob muck my sky points up on one of the face plates, im going to use wired because i live on the high street and being im a bit of a gamer freak i dont want any wifi drop outs.
      so im going to plug into master socket in spare room and go via powerline adaptors.

      scubbie ~ i dont even have a spare router i havnt had my own internet since the days of usb modems! so i will only have ma sky router when it arrives.

      lsitme ~ that switch is a steal! never even thought of that as an option i may order that and get 2 single adaptors, this will save me a few quid!

      thanks again jimmy

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: powerline adaptors

      Quote Originally Posted by stjimmy1980 View Post
      scubbie ~ i dont even have a spare router i havnt had my own internet since the days of usb modems! so i will only have ma sky router when it arrives.
      That's alright. I wasn't to know, but many people have so I like to point out what could be achieved.

      Since Itisme's solution is what will suit you, you're still the winner.

      As for gaming via WiFi - this is something that isn't recommend on this forum anyway.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #6
      stjimmy1980's Avatar
      stjimmy1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: powerline adaptors

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      That's alright. I wasn't to know, but many people have so I like to point out what could be achieved.
      .

      apologies if that sounded 'rude'! context in written text can come across wrong!
      and even tho its not an option to me i always like to learn myself!
      its been so long since having my own connection, just want to get all set up and good to go! being activated on 30th march been waiting since november!
      i live 1 short road away from exchange so am hoping for good connection!

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: powerline adaptors

      Quote Originally Posted by stjimmy1980 View Post
      apologies if that sounded 'rude'! context in written text can come across wrong!
      That's alright, no offence was taken.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #8
      stjimmy1980's Avatar
      stjimmy1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: powerline adaptors

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      . You may be better with a standard homeplug connected to a 4 port switch such as this
      TP-Link 5-Port 10/100 Unmanaged Mini Desktop Switch (TL-SF1005D) Plastic Case: Mcab: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      ordered today! many thx dude

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION