Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    EALS and New Line/Number

    This is a discussion on EALS and New Line/Number within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Recently moved into a new build flat, and just had my phone connected up this morning by BT . ...

    1. #1
      Applesauce's Avatar
      Applesauce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      EALS and New Line/Number

      Hello,

      Recently moved into a new build flat, and just had my phone connected up this morning by BT.

      Prior to this, postcode checker (which I know is less accurate) was telling me I could get around 16-18mbps. Now, using my new telephone number it's saying 3-4mbps instead.

      Now, my exchange is just two minutes walk away, but I do live in the city centre, so there might be some spaghetti wiring issue going on for all I know.

      Do you reckon the directory number check is accurate? Any reason for it being so out of whack with the postcode check? I expected a margin of error but surely the postcode check is based on something like what other people get in my area on that exchange?

      Is it possible the database of line speeds simply hasn't been updated since this number just got assigned to me?

      Is there any way to check my stats without an active connection?

      Thanks for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      stjimmy1980's Avatar
      stjimmy1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      morning, i have a similar problem

      new build flat new connection, but old reused postcode.
      the geographic location of the postcode is not known so it get estimates of low speeds but i live 100 metres from the exchange.

      but the sky dlm which tests the connection for 10days after connection establishes the best speed so your speeds should be very good.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      Other reason might be that your new line is using a different street cab which takes a different route to the exchange
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      Happens the same when using the system in work to check.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      If it is a completely new line/number it can take about 10 days to get on to all the databases it needs to be on to get an accurate estimate. Flats are notorious for poor broadband speeds however, you may need your internal wiring checked.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Applesauce's Avatar
      Applesauce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      Yeah it's a whole new line, and a new number as far as I know.

      By internal wiring do you mean inside my flat, or the building itself? I've got a master and one extension, I'll be plugging into the master (or test) socket anyway.

      I've got a router here but obviously without a connection It doesnt show line stats. Maybe I'm missing the whole principle of attentuation/etc, but is there no direct way to find out the quality of my line before I'm connected?

      Might have a peek later at one of the nearby wireless networks, see what kind of speed they're getting, if I can

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      The wiring inside your flat, you can't do much about the building wiring. If you have an NTE5 socket it helps a lot. How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      You can't do much about finding out your speed until the ADSL is activated on the line. Why not knock on a couple of doors, introduce yourself, and ask about their broadband..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Applesauce's Avatar
      Applesauce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      Alright, got connected earlier today and it's synching in at around 4mbit, which I understand is the standard you get started on. So I just leave it be for the next 10 days and hopefully it improves?

      Got my stats, if that helps determine what speed i might get:


    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      Probably around 16mbps or so.

    11. #10
      Applesauce's Avatar
      Applesauce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: EALS and New Line/Number

      Ah good, I can live with that.

      Cheers for the help folks.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION