Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am a sky unlimited broadband customer with a max speed of 20MBPS but usually get around 2-3. Here ...

    1. #1
      Rafiki's Avatar
      Rafiki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds

      Hi, I am a sky unlimited broadband customer with a max speed of 20MBPS but usually get around 2-3.
      Here is the statistics shown from the router
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 57:18:17
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 18530249 21200440 0 16709 9501 57:17:32
      LAN 100M/Full 461499 344508 0 2856 226 57:18:12
      WLAN 11M/54M 19755750 20038452 0 7799 18329 57:17:59
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3067 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48 db 28 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 8 db.
      If you have any ideas on how to speed this up I would appreciate it.
      Thanks in advance.
      Rafiki.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by Rafiki View Post
      Hi, I am a sky unlimited broadband customer with a max speed of UP TO 20MBPS but usually get around 2-3.
      You'll never get anywhere near 20mbps with your line length, but you should be getting more than you are at the moment. Line's capped at 3072/800 at the moment, but we need to find out why.

      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      Is there a microfilter connected directly into each telephone socket in use, ensuring that nothing is before the filter?
      Is the router connected to the master socket or an extension socket?
      Are you using the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided, or running an extension telephone cable to the router?
      Do you have Sky tv connected to any telephone sockets?
      Do you have a test socket?

    4. #3
      Rafiki's Avatar
      Rafiki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      Just one telephone socket the broadband line is hardwired into the socket, with a 10m(approx) extension to the router, this installed by the sky engineer, I don't think the sky + box is connected to the line I am just about to purchase a ethernet cable to connect straight into router.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      That extension cable shouldn't be there. The set-up should be as follows:

      master socket > microfilter > short grey dsl cable > router

      The extension will be inducing noise onto the line, thus why the line is capped for stability. Get rid of the extension and then call Sky to uncap it (08442410515).

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      Rafiki (16-03-11)

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by Rafiki View Post
      Just one telephone socket the broadband line is hardwired into the socket, with a 10m(approx) extension to the router, this installed by the sky engineer, I don't think the sky + box is connected to the line I am just about to purchase a ethernet cable to connect straight into router.
      Its time Sky's installers were trained in how to install the phone/modem connection when broadband is present. This causes problems all over the country, I have fixed two of my friends connection which were wired like this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #6
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      Anyone with common sense wouldn't install it like that
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      Possible some of the issues are because of the wording on the splitter they use and the fact that they are installing the TV before the router has arrived.

      Since the Micro-Filters arrive with the router, they won't have any to use.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION