Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 67

    Problems since W7 install

    This is a discussion on Problems since W7 install within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You seem to have had a very large number of CRC and HEC errors in the last 24 hours. Although ...

    1. #51
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      You seem to have had a very large number of CRC and HEC errors in the last 24 hours. Although the error rates don't look too bad over the hour before you posted that (although you'd expect error rates to fall if you are not using the connection).


      If I recall correctly the HEC count is exclusively of ATM data cells with header errors, and it doesn't count other ATM cells, and I think it doesn't count ATM cells that only have a 1 bit header error as they can be corrected using the checksum.

      You've received 771808 data cells since the router established an adsl connection, of which 514537 had a checksum error in their headers. If I'm right that's about a 66% error rate.

      Try the router in the test socket if you have one, try another router if you can, if neither helps you've probably got a line fault


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      SF = 5218438
      CRC = 513063
      ES = 8717
      With an error rate of 10% I am not surprised you have problems. It does look like a line fault, but you could ask Sky to put you back on G.DMT With your sync speed there is no advantage in being on ADSL2 and a lot more room for problems. If that does not help, they will have to do something about the line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #53
      stevogums's Avatar
      stevogums is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      So wait for router try that..
      In test socket new router see how that goes...
      Then if same results which i will post its a possible line fault..

    5. #54
      stevogums's Avatar
      stevogums is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      Ok another update .Was supposed to get new router and cables which were ordered or so i thought to eliminate faulty router rang up today after another 4 days of very poor connection and to my suprise no router or new filters ordered..This has now been done im assured..
      Asked the guy to put me back onto G.DMT and was met with silence..
      He didnt seem to know what i was on about etc..After a few holds i was told that they were taking me off gamer profile and back to G.DMT ....the net is back to decent speed again but on last test it shows me still on ADSL2..
      Im still non the wiser why my connection is so hit and miss yet router stats show me on decent up and down....Gonna have to wait for router to come now to try that option...
      Could it be that or does it look like my line or something my end is the problem..Im just trying to get an outcome wether it be an engineer or not..as i need the connection for work ...
      Latest stats

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.220.210.1 P-t-P:87.87.254.133 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:14556 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:10621 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:15577915 (14.8 MiB) TX bytes:2420099 (2.3 MiB)

      Uptime 1539.08 1492.17
      Wan up 46.38 33.96
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 579 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5471 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.8 10.5
      Attn(dB): 51.0 32.8
      Pwr(dBm): 10.5 10.4
      Max(Kbps): 5716 676
      Rate (Kbps): 5471 579
      G.dmt framing
      K: 85(0) 19
      R: 6 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 66
      B: 84 18
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 6 16
      S: 0.4942 7.9526
      L: 1473 169
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 94351 89149
      SFErr: 23 1
      RS: 12265756 760798
      RSCorr: 13058 0
      RSUnCorr: 895 0

      HEC: 18 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 19560007 2071572
      Data Cells: 334421 61412
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 7 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 15 220
      AS: 1516

      INP: 1.04 1.51
      PER: 16.06 17.89
      delay: 7.90 7.95
      OR: 32.37 32.19

      Bitswap: 76 32

      Total time = 25 min 39 sec
      SF = 94351
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Latest 1 day time = 25 min 39 sec
      SF = 94351
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 39 sec
      SF = 39776
      CRC = 21
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54575
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 10
      ChipSet VersionNumber:
      ChipSet SerialNumber:

    6. #55
      stevogums's Avatar
      stevogums is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      Ok had a D link router delivered today plugged it in and still having same problems...
      Not sure how to get stats for D link router
      this is what i can get via ip of router
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1496 1492 0 1250 3208 00:05:41
      LAN 2311 2832 0 4323 1947 00:06:32
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5468 kbps 625 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0db 32.6db
      Noise Margin 7.1db 9.5db


      Does it look like i need a BT engineer.. or is there anything else i can eliminate before i do that.. thanks

    7. #56
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      Try running this test Internet Connectivity Evaluation Tool it will only run in IE. It was designed for Vista but runs in Win 7. It may show wht is causing your problem.

      You might also want to try starting in Safe Mode with networking and browse with a safe site. This one would be ideal

      This will show whether it is your software which is slowing you down. As you are unprotected, be very careful what site you visit.

      I have seen a few instances where the exchange connection caused slow throughput, but it is not very common.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #57
      stevogums's Avatar
      stevogums is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      It failed only one thing on connectivity test this one.

      Multiple Simultaneous Connection States Test

      This test creates 80 concurrent TCP connections to external Web servers and keeps them alive over the period of two minutes by attempting continuous data download using HTTP. Passing this test indicates that your router robustly supports multiple computers or programs accessing the Internet simultaneously.

      If this test does not succeed, certain applications which use multiple network streams may run in a degraded manner, or you may have difficulties when using many Internet applications at the same time. However, basic Internet connectivity should remain unaffected. Not supported.

      Not sure what that even means...?
      Here are latest stats today nets still very very slow
      Also i cannot run any updates for W7 when i try it always fails says unable to connect..wether that means anything or not i dont know.
      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 03:20:13

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6672 5326 0 144 366 03:19:22
      LAN 16858 17219 0 1025 303 03:20:13
      WLAN 1452 397 0 156 25 00:37:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5471 kbps 582 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.5db 32.7db
      Noise Margin 7.1db 10.5db

      Will try the safe mode route ..have tried another laptop on same connection and my blackberry via wireless and same poor connection so does this prove its not a software or o/s problem...
      As i say maybe last resort is an engineer...
      Question does this engineer check from exchange to the house and internal in the house ie main/master socket and i presume i need to be in when they are doing the checks..?
      Last edited by stevogums; 10-04-11 at 05:01 PM.

    9. #58
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      I think failing that test means you router is having problems. It advises trying another router to check.

      If you are getting the same result on other devices, it points to something other than the PC as you say, but it could also be down to using wireless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #59
      stevogums's Avatar
      stevogums is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      Im not using wireless the PC im on is connected via proper extension cable via main BT switch, I have also ran same tests via test socket at master scocket..When i say wireless its just another test i have ran as before problems my laptop and blackberry were working perfect both with very good connections ..
      The Modem is the new D link black one Sky sent out on saturday so could it be that could be faulty new out the box...My last router completely failed on friday and i couldnt even get connection light via test socket...
      Not sure as i say what the test results really mean but if it means that not supported is a fault then what could be the diagnosis..
      Also not sure wether Sky will send me another router to check as that one i ran the test on is new..

    11. #60
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Problems since W7 install

      Also i cannot run any updates for W7 when i try it always fails says unable to connect..wether that means anything or not i dont know.
      What it sometimes means is you have a trojan which is blocking the updates. Try running Superantispyware and Malwarebytes see if they turn up anything.
      Download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.50.1 - FileHippo.com
      SuperAntiSpyware Free Edition - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

      Did you try Safe Mode?

      Are Sky sending an engineer to check the line?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION