Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Router or DLM caused lower speed?

    This is a discussion on Router or DLM caused lower speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, this one has completely baffled me. I got one of the new D-Links to replace my old DG834GT which ...

    1. #1
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      Ok, this one has completely baffled me.

      I got one of the new D-Links to replace my old DG834GT which ive had since I joined sky in 2007. Ever since ive had it, I get a lower speed.

      On the old router i got around 2.5mb - 3mb with this router I can only get a max of 2014kbps.

      After looking at mysky I can see that...

      Your connection details
      Line connection testing completed on 17/02/2011
      Download Speed
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      2.0Mb (2048Kb)
      Upload Speed
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      0.8Mb (800Kb)

      I had DLM on (without me knowing) during February in which im guessing has capped me at 2mb.

      Yet the attenuation is the same (61db) and the noise margin syncs around 7 but usually mingles between 5-7db.

      Question is how come going to a new router gives me a slower speed with the same margin? Or am I just missing the whole point or somthing?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      The different chipset in the router can make a bit of difference to your sync speed.. Post your stats and someone may be able to spot something that will help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      System Up Time: 135:12:19
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6976432 9552866 0 2727 4412 135:11:08
      LAN 9678113 7029628 0 4465 3046 135:12:20
      WLAN 1452 486 0 185 25 00:35:21
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2041 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0db 37.8db
      Noise Margin 7.6db 11.5db

      -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Firmware Version SKY_1.11
      ADSL Port
      MAC Address ---------------------------
      IP Address 90.203.237.27
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.251.20
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      LAN Port
      MAC Address 34:08:04:29:42:6E
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pD030i.d22k
      Modem Status ADSL Link Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 2041
      UpStream Connection Speed 480
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      -----------------------------------------------

      Been a bit busy over the last few days and forgot to check to see if I had any replies

      Hope this helps :P

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      DLM has kicked you on to ADSL2+. Phone Sky and ask them to try your line on G.DMT(ADSL1) you were on this before when you posted here DLM again?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      If you are on an ISAM, you could ask to be put on the :

      G.dmt 3072/256 delays 32/32 INP 2 symbol profile
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #6
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      DLM has kicked you on to ADSL2+. Phone Sky and ask them to try your line on G.DMT(ADSL1) you were on this before when you posted here DLM again?
      Yeah but that was the old router. How do you know its ADSL2+?

      And yeah il give them a ring monday.

    8. #7
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      I think the reason isitme thinks it has moved is because your attenuation has increased from your other thread.

      Usually if there is a change from G.dmt to ADSL2+ your attenuation will rise by1-4db.

      It would also explain why your sync has decreased.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #8
      calitoxs's Avatar
      calitoxs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Genfield, Leicester (EMGLNFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: 6 mixes + sport
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      Well, I called them last week and they said CST will ring me back, but they never did. Rang up this morning (first chance ive had in a week) and explained the situation as you guys pointed out on here.

      Dont know what they did but now im getting...


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1705 2506 0 863 15064 00:02:45
      LAN 228041 141295 0 32280 1745 02:28:34
      WLAN 9309 3324 0 13414 2007 00:02:35
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2809 kbps 432 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5db 38.2db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 10.5db

      which is obviously alot better than last time. Was it simply because I was capped as I noticed that it was just hold at 2047kbps and never went above.

      Not sure if they switched me back to D.DMT but at least its better than what it was.

      Thanks for the help guys.

    10. #9
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router or DLM caused lower speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by calitoxs View Post
      Well, I called them last week and they said CST will ring me back, but they never did. Rang up this morning (first chance ive had in a week) and explained the situation as you guys pointed out on here.

      Dont know what they did but now im getting...


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1705 2506 0 863 15064 00:02:45
      LAN 228041 141295 0 32280 1745 02:28:34
      WLAN 9309 3324 0 13414 2007 00:02:35
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2809 kbps 432 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5db 38.2db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 10.5db

      which is obviously alot better than last time. Was it simply because I was capped as I noticed that it was just hold at 2047kbps and never went above.

      Not sure if they switched me back to D.DMT but at least its better than what it was.

      Thanks for the help guys.
      Think that you are still on ADSL2+

      Looks like its set to around 2816/448 on ADSL2+

      Previously your line was managing over 3Mb on G.DMT
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION