Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

    This is a discussion on Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Just wondered if all you good people would mind taking a quick look at my current stats and letting ...

    1. #1
      Dazeon's Avatar
      Dazeon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lemington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      Hello,

      Just wondered if all you good people would mind taking a quick look at my current stats and letting me know if there is any scope for improvement?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.4 db 10.0 db

      I am aware that my line is pretty awful but of late it has been especially slow and appears to be getting worse.

      Yesterday I had around 2500 kbps down and 950 kbps up (usually around that figure), however a quick reboot of my router (Netgear DGND3700) always restores me to 3072 kbps down, for around a day or two before it drops.

      Everything is plugged directly into a filtered faceplate on the master socket, with zero extension wiring and one telephone connected.

      We occasionally suffer from a fairly noisy line (picking the phone up and pressing 1) and I have tried to convey this to Sky on several occasions, but they simply do not want to know (tried line noise and BB support)!

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      1Mbps at the most going by those stats
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Dazeon's Avatar
      Dazeon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lemington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      Thanks for the reply.

      Might I be better dropping back to G.DMT or whatever is the one below G.DMT2+?

      You say at most possibly another 1Mbps, how might I go about doing that?

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by Dazeon View Post
      Thanks for the reply.

      Might I be better dropping back to G.DMT or whatever is the one below G.DMT2+?

      You say at most possibly another 1Mbps, how might I go about doing that?
      just G.dmt

      best bet is to give sky a call and say you have improved your wiring some people in tier 1 can reconfigure it. Otherwise you will be passed to CST
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      Might I be better dropping back to G.DMT
      Your figures show you are already on G.DMT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Dazeon's Avatar
      Dazeon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lemington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      just G.dmt

      best bet is to give sky a call and say you have improved your wiring some people in tier 1 can reconfigure it. Otherwise you will be passed to CST
      Cool, thanks.

      I will give that a try, as much as I detest picking up the phone to Sky!

    8. #7
      Dazeon's Avatar
      Dazeon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lemington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your figures show you are already on G.DMT.
      Really, am I?

      My 2Wire always reported that I was on G.DMT2+

      Can't figure out how to check with the Netgear.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Yet another 'any room for improvement' thread

      You can't, but that is on GDMT already. If it was on ADSL2+ then it'd say so
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION