Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    There is an IP conflict on the system

    This is a discussion on There is an IP conflict on the system within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; On a wireless connection in the house but after a router restart or connection restart i get the title message ...

    1. #1
      ColdRed's Avatar
      ColdRed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      Maidenhead
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      There is an IP conflict on the system

      On a wireless connection in the house but after a router restart or connection restart i get the title message popping up.

      We have had terrible speed from the internet ever since it went live could this be causing a slow down and how does one fix it?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: There is an IP conflict on the system

      An ipconfig would not be causing the slow down issue.

      i am guessing that you have 2 or more devices connected. the IP conflict just means that two or more devices are being allocated the same IP address.

      Using 7 as an example the rest are not much different

      If you want to post the OS that you are using then i can re-post the exact steps with your OS

      if you are using windows 7 all that you have to do is:

      1. go to control panel
      2. change from category view to large or small icons. top right
      3. network and sharing centre.
      4. change adapter settings
      5. right click on wireless and go to properties
      6. click on the name of (internet protocol TCP/IPv4) not the tick
      7. click on properties
      8. manually assign IP/DNS

      IP address 192.168.0.13
      subnet mask 255.255.225.0
      default gateway

      DNS
      primary 192.168.0.1

      you could also post your stats from the test socket and we can advise more on that issue as well.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: There is an IP conflict on the system

      An IP conflict occurs either:

      a. when someone defines a specific IP address on two devices on a LAN

      b. there is a WiFi clash with a local Router

      I've witnessed both.

      Check all the devices you have connected to your router. The Sky router will automatically allocate IP addresses for most OSes.

      If this isn't the case, then you'll need to change the starting IP address on your router. To do this, perform the following:

      Type 192.168.0.1 into a browser
      Click <ADVANCED> <LAN IP SETUP>
      Now change the last number block in 'Starting IP Address' to a number between 21 & 50, depending on what suits you.
      Click <Apply>

      The whole line will now look something like:
      Starting IP Address: 192 . 168 . 0 . 31

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: There is an IP conflict on the system

      Or you could just do as Scubbie suggested either will work

      On the slow connection issue lets hope you are not on connect and have an internal wiring issue
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: There is an IP conflict on the system

      This cannot really happen if all devices are set to 'Obtain IP address automatically' or all devices are given their own IP and this is reserved in the router.

      Do you have the wireless security enabled in your router? If you don't, then someone else may be connecting from outside your house. If they are using P2P or Torrents etc, this could badly effect your speed.
      Post your stats as requested -
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: There is an IP conflict on the system

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      This cannot really happen if all devices are set to 'Obtain IP address automatically' or all devices are given their own IP and this is reserved in the router.
      I would agree with you that it should not happen if everything is set to automatically be allocated IP addresses by the router.

      An ex-boyfriend, who was using a BT HomeHub v2 & a WiFi dongle on his PC, kept getting this problem. Since he was the only individual using his router, it was really odd.

      Next time I was at his home, I changed the default start address (to 192.168.1.41) for allocating the IP addresses. Since then he hasn't had a problem.

      There more routers where I live, so I have changed the start address in order to avoid the same issue & I can use the lower numbers for fixed items which are wired.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION