Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Soon to be on Sky Unlimited within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK, will do another test in a few minutes and post back. Just to add to a few points raised ...

    1. #11
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      OK, will do another test in a few minutes and post back.

      Just to add to a few points raised above.

      My actual line length is 3'338 metres.

      I'm not using ANY extensions, never have done, I know they cause grief.

      Previous sync was 5550 at 6dB on ADSL2 mode, and has been for last 3 years.

      Plain adsl mode on previous ISP gave me even lower than 4096, 3800 or similar.

      I have seen this line sync at 7902, though that was a in 2006!

      Right, gonna try filtered faceplate and another dongle filter.

      Will post back in a while.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      Plug in your old router and have a look at it stats. You will not connect to Sky but you should see a connection speed, attenuation and noise margin. You are looking for a rise in your noise margin, at least double the Sky router reading. I am suggesting this as there have been a few of these routers delivered faulty, yours may be one of them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      Hi, great minds etc...

      I just tried my old speedtouch 585v6, results were pretty much identical in ADLS2+ mode.

      Forcing ADSL2 mode gave me a noise margin of 10dB.


      Anyway, results of other tests using sagem :-



      Dongle #1 in test socket:-

      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4092 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.5 dB 28.2 dB
      Noise Margin 7.1 dB 14.2 dB



      Dongle #2 in test socket:-

      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4089 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.5 dB 28.4 dB
      Noise Margin 7.2 dB 14.5 dB



      Using Faceplate filter:-

      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4093 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.5 dB 28.2 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 dB 14.4 dB

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      Looks like you have a poor outside line. Wait till DLM runs and if there is no improvement ask for a change to G.DMT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      OK will do, thanks to all for advice.

    7. #16
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      when you got the 10db SNR, did you mean that you were forcing G.DMT(ADSL 1)?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #17
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      when you got the 10db SNR, did you mean that you were forcing G.DMT(ADSL 1)?
      Sorry I get mixed up with the G.DMT names.
      I was using ADSL2 mode. The mode before the standard ADSL2+ mode.

      ADSL - ADSL2 - ADSL2+

      EDIT:

      G.992.3 ANNEX A

    9. #18
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      Hi, just a quick update.

      My connection has been resyncing every morning around 2:25am. However this morning it didn't.

      I'm just wondering if DLM is finished? Today would be day 7 since testing started.

      Current stats:-

      HTML Code:
      WAN  	Up 31:35:52
      LAN  Up  162:01:53
      WLAN 	 Up 162:01:36
      
      ADSL Link 	        Downstream 	Upstream
      Connection Speed 	3913 kbps 	797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	47.5 dB 	28.4 dB
      Noise Margin 	         8.0 dB 	 7.3 dB
      Thanks

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      Your speeds are very poor.
      Before we go much further can you remove faceplate from your master socket then go around and check that all your other sockets have no dial tone. This is purely to check if your internal wiring has beed done correctly. If it has not, it can have a very detrimental effect on your broadband.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      benaline's Avatar
      benaline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Soon to be on Sky Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your speeds are very poor.
      Before we go much further can you remove faceplate from your master socket then go around and check that all your other sockets have no dial tone. This is purely to check if your internal wiring has beed done correctly. If it has not, it can have a very detrimental effect on your broadband.
      I think that might be an unneccesary step. All his other sockets will have no dial tone as he states he has no extensions in original post!...(and about every other one after that!) just trying to speed things up for him....

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION