Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    Time/Date not showing in router log files.

    This is a discussion on Time/Date not showing in router log files. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hmm, mine's not updated, which is annoying as I'd intended to have a go at hacking it again. It also ...

    1. #21
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      Hmm, mine's not updated, which is annoying as I'd intended to have a go at hacking it again. It also doesn't show the dates in the UI's log either, but I'd assumed that was just one of the 'features' of the V1.11 d-link firmware. "logread" shows the date on mine.

      If anyone obtains a copy of the new firmware from customer services to manually install it, please upload it somewhere.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      Quote Originally Posted by rocky3434 View Post
      The poster with the log stats with time/date was using a sagem router..sorry to mislead..
      Anyone using the sagem can they confirm that they get the time/date in the log files..
      There seems to be a post of the d-links log with the current firmware here (includes the date):- Network type changed to MER. No longer Dynamic IP?

    4. #23
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      That may have been the post I was getting mixed up with..
      Will the d-links auto update this firmware.

    5. #24
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      Part of a post by seige2..7th march


      asked the nice women If DLM training has started on the line reply was yes :-) checked my log and says;

      Mar 7 09:16:04 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL link down
      Mar 7 09:16:04 user warn kernel: bcmxtmcfg: XTM Link Information, portid = 0, State = DOWN, Service Support = ATM
      Mar 7 09:16:04 user warn kernel: bcmxtmcfg: Connection DOWN, LinkActiveStatus=0x0
      Mar 7 09:16:06 user crit kernel: Line 0: xDSL G.994 training
      Mar 7 09:16:21 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 started
      Mar 7 09:16:25 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 channel analysis
      Mar 7 09:16:30 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 message exchange
      Mar 7 09:16:31 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL link down
      Mar 7 09:16:31 user warn kernel: bcmxtmcfg: XTM Link Information, portid = 0, State = DOWN, Service Support = PTM
      Mar 7 09:16:32 user crit kernel: Line 0: xDSL G.994 training
      Mar 7 09:16:47 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 started
      Mar 7 09:16:51 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 channel analysis
      Mar 7 09:16:56 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL G.992 message exchange
      Mar 7 09:16:56 user crit kernel: Line 0: ADSL link up, Bearer 0, us=1146, ds=18012

    6. #25
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      Just an update on my log files, the current time at the top the date is right but the time was way out...18:50
      When I refreshed the time went to 19:31
      Each time I refresh it moves forward to a random time..with no logs.
      After a few attempts the correct time showed with a few log files, but that seems to have froze now.
      eg..the current time now says 11:28:13.. It looks like the few files in the log have also froze.
      I assume the the current time should be an up to date clock..

      Thanks..

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      Open the router settings and click the Security link. Click the Schedule link and at the bottom tick 'Use this NTP server' and put in the following ntp2d.mcc.ac.uk

      This is the University of Manchester internet time server, the default one used by Sky is a bit flakey at times.
      Untick adjust for daylight savings if it is ticked and make sure you are set to the correct time zone.Power cycle your router by switching the power off for a minute then back on again. This will force the router to connect to the time server and show the correct date and time.

      Among many, other servers you can use are
      ntp2c.mcc.ac.uk also Manchester
      ntp.cis.strath.ac.uk University of Strathclyde.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      Hi...
      I have no .."Use this NTP server" tick box in the schedule link..

      Should I reboot or factory reset the router.
      This is a new broadband unlimited connection..4th march, but there is no re syncs or changes through the night..
      Nothing in MySky broadband connection info.

      Todays stats..

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6322240 8711981 0 8607 2822 69:18:21
      LAN 8341991 6017236 0 4133 8597 69:23:06
      WLAN 846312 656546 0 1072928 187655 00:11:05
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10239 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0db 17.4db
      Noise Margin 8.7db 20.0db

      The uptime is from a filter face plate change on wednesday.

      Anyone know if the date time clock on log page should be a live clock with up to date time..

      Thanks..

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      I did think that all the Sky GUIs were similar, but by what you say, this is not the case. It looks like Sky have crippled one more thing in the firmware.

      Anyone else with a Dlink that can confirm this? Just in case it is your router that is duff.

      With regards your connection and DLM, I have an idea that some agents when they set the speed manually, do not put DLM back into training mode, but just restart it. This means it will not alter your connection unless it finds something wrong with it. Maybe one of the Skybods would comment if this is possible?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      196
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      I to have a d-link, and.."Use this NTP server" tick box in the schedule link..
      i cant find the link that isitme refers to.

    11. #30
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Time/Date not showing in router log files.

      Just phoned Sky about DLM and mentioned date time in logs, they had no answer.
      I said I used chrome, and agreed it could be a bug with that browser..
      Anyway said DLM started 8 march, I told them there had been no re syncs..They said no need for any everything is running OK no issues..
      I also asked about the firmware upgrade, they said it will happen in time!!

      Thanks..

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION