Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    New connection

    This is a discussion on New connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Migrated from BT to sky unlimited on 2nd March. Initial stats were ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 4095 kbps ...

    1. #1
      arniebovis's Avatar
      arniebovis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      Lee-on-Solent Hants
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New connection

      Migrated from BT to sky unlimited on 2nd March. Initial stats were

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5db 16.1db
      Noise Margin 14.1db 15.9db
      18:48 02/03/11

      DLM did not appear to kick in so I rang sky on the 7th and while i was on the line after asking me what my speed estimate was (10 -20mb) they changed something and my figures were then

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10233 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5db 13.0db
      Noise Margin 6.8db 13.5db
      19:50 07/03/11

      I still have not noticed DLM kicking in and my stats are now

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10233 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5db 13.0db
      Noise Margin 8.9db 13.7db
      15:30 11/03/11

      Is there any more to be had and will DLM kick in evantually?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      They have been having problems with DLM recently. If your router does not resync between 2 and 3 in the morning, call Sky again and ask them to make sure DLM is started. You should get 12-14 down and 900-1000kb up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New connection

      1. Not a lot more
      2. DLM is probably suspended after the manual config

      Try in your test socket and see if the noise margin increases. If it does, wiring your end is holding things back
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      The same as what happened to me..activated since last friday
      Fitted faceplate 2 days ago
      When you say DLM suspended, do you mean it will not now run.
      My stats have been like this since tuesday.
      The uptime is from when the faceplate was changed.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4237840 6292475 0 8113 12035 49:33:45
      LAN 6001840 4003198 0 12016 8252 49:38:30
      WLAN 662044 502433 0 5920 914 27:39:21
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10239 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0db 17.4db
      Noise Margin 8.9db 20.0db

      Thanks..

    6. #5
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Think IWNTE meant that the optimization was stopped basically what happens is that DLM is suspended and then a manual reconfiguration is preformed and then it is resumed

      when it is resumed it does not go through another optimization process, rather it just sits in the background waiting for things to change either for the better or worse.

      There are 3 options for DLM:

      1. Suspend - it will not run and will not monitor the line in the background
      2. Stabilize - 10 day reconfiguration process
      3. Resumed - wil monitor the line in the background

      Was your last post from the master socket with the pre-filtered face plate or the test socket?

      If it was from the master socket, posting stats from the test socket for comparison may be a good idea
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 12-03-11 at 06:56 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #6
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      Thanks Sky Answers..
      I started a thread about my router logs,. Scubbie asked for the same info..
      So to avoid confusion on two threads I have put the info on the router log thread

      Thanks again..

    8. #7
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by rocky3434 View Post
      Thanks Sky Answers..
      I started a thread about my router logs,. Scubbie asked for the same info..
      So to avoid confusion on two threads I have put the info on the router log thread

      Thanks again..
      No probz
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      Think IWNTE meant that the optimization was stopped basically what happens is that DLM is suspended and then a manual reconfiguration is preformed and then it is resumed

      when it is resumed it does not go through another optimization process, rather it just sits in the background waiting for things to change either for the better or worse.

      There are 3 options for DLM:

      1. Suspend - it will not run and will not monitor the line in the background
      2. Optomization - 10 day reconfiguration process
      3. Resumed - wil monitor the line in the background

      Was your last post from the master socket with the pre-filtered face plate or the test socket?

      If it was from the master socket, posting stats from the test socket for comparison may be a good idea
      1. Suspend - won't run but WILL monitor in the background
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      1. Suspend - won't run but WILL monitor in the background
      No.

      Suspend means nothing will be running. DLM is off. If your line drops 50 times an hour it won't do anything.
      Resume turns DLM back on. It's monitoring, but is not stabilising. If the line becomes unstable it might start line optimisation. You can't configure the line manually.
      Stabilise starts the optimisation manually.

    11. #10
      arniebovis's Avatar
      arniebovis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      Lee-on-Solent Hants
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Fitted a Clarity Modified BT NTE5 Master ADSL Adaptor
      Hardwired a 5m extension with cat5e cable with dual ADSL and phone sockets and then got the following noise improvements

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10239 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5db 16.3db
      Noise Margin 10.3db 16.5db

      Rang sky and told them I had improved my wiring and asked them to re-configure and now have

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16000 kbps 1146 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5db 15.9db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 8.db

      Well pleased with this and couldn't recommend the filterplate enough.

      Cheers for the advice on the forum

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION