Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

    This is a discussion on DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I'm suffering an issue with my recently activated sky broadband and I'm hoping that someone can help me ...

    1. #1
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Hi there,

      I'm suffering an issue with my recently activated sky broadband and I'm hoping that someone can help me to solve it.

      Basically, MySky reports that DLM testing began yesterday, but now my broadband connection has been down all day today. I thought maybe that it was part and parcel of the testing but after reading the results of people in some of the threads on here, I'm getting worried. Other people are reporting fairly immediate improvements in speed, or at the very least fairly immediate activity of some kind.

      I know that 'intermittent' connections with DLM are to be expected as per Sky's literature, but surely this doesn't mean 'lengthy disconnects'?!

      I've Googled and searched on here but I can't find any examples of my issue, although I do apologise if I've missed any.

      Please help! Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Hello again

      Ok, could you post your full stats, including the WAN & LAN uptime please?

      Could you also confirm whether your router is plugged into the Master Socket or an extension?

      How are you connecting to your router? (i.e. Ethernet cable or WiFi)

      The issue is unlikely to be DLM itself, more likely a line issue somewhere or your or connection with the router. First it'll help to rule out a few areas.

      The part about DLM disconnecting your line tends to be in the middle of the night in practise.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      When were you activated...I was activated on the 4th, MySky connection details "We are currently unable to display your broadband connection details"
      A few calls to sky ..said DLM had started. My speeds have been up and down all day, and no router snyc's on any nights..
      Do you still have the original sky 1.11 firmware on your router.

      Thanks...

    5. #4
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Hello again

      Ok, could you post your full stats, including the WAN & LAN uptime please?

      Could you also confirm whether your router is plugged into the Master Socket or an extension?

      How are you connecting to your router? (i.e. Ethernet cable or WiFi)

      The issue is unlikely to be DLM itself, more likely a line issue somewhere or your or connection with the router. First it'll help to rule out a few areas.

      The part about DLM disconnecting your line tends to be in the middle of the night in practise.
      Hi, thanks for the replies.

      Connecting via WiFi, router is plugged into main socket but not test socket (i.e. not under the faceplate)

      Here's the stats (just for info, prior to disconnection I was around 5043Kbps downstream, 31.5Db attenuation downstream, and ~8Db noise margin) Epitwr has been on constantly since activation last Weds (2nd March)

      System Up Time: 197:41:44
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 636 633 0 473 2605 00:00:00
      LAN * 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN * 13599160 7930978 0 14486 10853 20:24:16
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 0 kbps 0 kbps
      Line Attenuation 0db 0db
      Noise Margin 0db 0db

      Thanks again

    6. #5
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by rocky3434 View Post
      When were you activated...I was activated on the 4th, MySky connection details "We are currently unable to display your broadband connection details"
      A few calls to sky ..said DLM had started. My speeds have been up and down all day, and no router snyc's on any nights..
      Do you still have the original sky 1.11 firmware on your router.

      Thanks...
      Cheers for the reply.

      I was activated on the 2nd. Thought DLM was underway from then but MySky says it started on the 9th. According to another thread there has been a glitch in the system regarding new activations being placed on DLM.

      Yes, I have router firmware 1.11.

      Thanks again.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      If you are plugged into the master socket using only the filter and cable supplied by Sky, you need to call Sky and tell them you have no internet connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      rocky3434's Avatar
      rocky3434 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEWAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      7 days between activation and DLM seems a long time.
      I wonder if my DLM has actually started.
      Let us know what you problem was when you get sorted..

      Thanks...

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      There are reports of faulty routers going out recently, I wonder if yours is one of them or whether this is a red herring.

      Both the WAN & LAN times are zero in your post with the stats. Also the connection details are zero, hence why I'll bow to Tom's suggestion that you should call Sky.

      If you have another router that isn't tied to someone else's network, it might be worth extracting the Sky router's password and trying your other router, just to see if you can get a connection, apart from anything else.

      I was also going to ask whether there is any noise on the telephone line that you can here. Using a corded telephone, dial '1' and listen. The line should be absolutely silent.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Right, thanks. I have got a spare router lying around so I'll try that. Already got the username and password.

      I'll post the results, but if no luck looks like a phone call to Sky in the morning.

      Line is quiet. I wonder what it could be?

    11. #10
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Right, an update.

      Before switching routers, I decided to swap over my filter and, hey presto, I got a connection. Very odd indeed, there was no noise on the line, and it was one of the filters Sky provided me with. Anyway, at least I have a connection now.

      I synced at c.7000kbps, removed the ringwire/bellwire and synced at 10238kbps where I have remained ever since.

      MySky today has reported that line testing completed on the 12th, and they have set my speed to down: 10Mb, up: 1Mb.

      My next question(s) are: how does this compare to my router stats, i.e. is this a fair speed to be recieving based on attenuation, noise etc.? My other question is, if not, have I caused this by the 2/3 re-syncs I performed during the DLM period?

      Stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.5db 21.2db
      Noise Margin 8.0db 8.7db

      Any help much appreciated, thank you.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION