Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

    This is a discussion on DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You're, give or take 500kbps, at the maximum your line can give at present. You can try in the test ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      You're, give or take 500kbps, at the maximum your line can give at present. You can try in the test socket and see if the noise margin increases. If it does, there's more to be had (and still an issue your end)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Hi there, thanks for the very fast reply! I just tried in the test socket, but got the same stats back.

      Because I'm stupid, what do you mean 'still an issue your end' (sorry, I'm probably being really dense, but I am confused what you mean )

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      If the noise margin had gone up in the Test socket, it would mean your internal wiring was holding it back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Micro-Filters can and do fail, so well done on swapping with another.

      The ones that Sky supply are hit & miss at times.

      It might pay you to consider purchasing & installing a filtered faceplate. They tend to use better electronics which are likely to last longer.

      If you could just try the new filter in the Test Socket and post the stats, this would confirm whether or not there is an additional issue with your internal wiring.

      Just speculating mind, but it is possible that some wiring may have caused the filter to fail. It may also be an external issue that caused it to fail.

      IWNTE will be better at spotting issues from the figures than myself.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Little update...

      At the last point, stats were the same in the test socket too. However I decided to take your advice and fit a filtered faceplate (to tidy up and give myself something to do!)

      Stats were unaltered, but hey-ho it looked better.

      I then awoke one day to find my connection very very sluggish, so I restarted the router. Imagine my surprise when it reported back 13.3Mbps DS, 1.1Mbps US.

      Shocked, but happy, I checked MySky and a 2nd round of line testing had begun. No idea how or why.

      I also noticed that the router firmware had upgraded to 2.04.

      Anyway, line testing completed within a day or so and my speed is set to 13.3Mbps.

      I thought I was at my max at 10Mbps. I wonder what changed and triggered more testing?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      I thought I was at my max at 10Mbps. I wonder what changed and triggered more testing?
      It is possible you did not read the stats in the Test socket correctly and that they did in fact show an improvement.
      Can you post your present stats for comparison?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It is possible you did not read the stats in the Test socket correctly and that they did in fact show an improvement.
      Can you post your present stats for comparison?
      Hi there,

      No, I read the figures correctly. Believe me, if there had been an improvement, let alone one of +3Mbps, I would've noticed!

      Surely there is a relation between the fact that more line testing began, and the day it did so my speed increased?

      Current stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13308 kbps 1113 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0db 21.2db
      Noise Margin 5.6db 8.3db

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      The improvement would not have been shown in your speed, but in the noise margin. Looking at your current stats, your noise margin is a bit low, it may drop out and sync a bit lower.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      marvelman1985's Avatar
      marvelman1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Ah, I see. As a matter of fact, however, all stats were the same in the test socket, including margin and attenuation.

      The margin varies between 8Db and ~3.5Db, and pretty much has since Sky BB activated on March 1st, but I've not lost sync once according to uptime figures which match with system uptime. I've turned the router on and off 3 or 4 times in that 6 week period however.

      Also, MySky reports that testing has completed and my speed has been set. Is it still possible I may lose speed then?

      As a benchmark, downloading files at 1.3 MB per sec over WiFi. I guess the .3 MB loss (i.e 13.3 Mbps = 1.6 MBps) is just the hit you take for not being wired, right? (not that I'm bothered)

      Cheers

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM knocked out my Sky BB connection?

      Yes, wireless will nearly always be slower than wired. If you are only loosing .3MB, that's not bad. Where you may notice it more, if you are a gamer, is in your latency, this will nearly always suffer by using wireless.

      Also, MySky reports that testing has completed and my speed has been set. Is it still possible I may lose speed then?
      Your speed will only drop if the line gets noisier and drops your noise margin even lower. I would not worry about it, to sync at 13Mb with your attenuation, you have a very good line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION