Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!"

    This is a discussion on Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!" within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi! Thanks for all your suggestions. This is still an ongoing problem with little help from CST . All they ...

    1. #11
      PhiliDV's Avatar
      PhiliDV is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01507
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!"

      Hi!

      Thanks for all your suggestions.

      This is still an ongoing problem with little help from CST.

      All they suggested was change the channel to 11, but this has not corrected the problem.

      I'm going to try using the test socket to see what happens.

      As I may be on Fastpath, would it be a good idea to get moved to Interleaved?

      This whole issue is a real pain as the router rarely goes for 24 hours without losing internet access and showing the dreaded amber light.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!"

      Quote Originally Posted by PhiliDV View Post
      As I may be on Fastpath, would it be a good idea to get moved to Interleaved?
      Simply put yes.

      CST will have to put in a request to BT to change it.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!"

      It may help, but if it does, it is just hiding the problem, not fixing it. BT will not normally put a line on fast unless the line can support it.

      I am at a loss to understand how changing the wireless channel would stop the internet dropping out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!"

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It may help, but if it does, it is just hiding the problem, not fixing it. BT will not normally put a line on fast unless the line can support it.

      I am at a loss to understand how changing the wireless channel would stop the internet dropping out.
      Think that he got an idiot or someone that was trying to get out ASAP
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #15
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!"

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It may help, but if it does, it is just hiding the problem, not fixing it. BT will not normally put a line on fast unless the line can support it.
      The Amber light/No PPP issues on Connect have been a real pain in the **** the last month or two - started happening a lot more often than normal. Seemed to coincide with the introduction of the D-Link router, but the router itself was ruled out as a problem (after much money wasted on SFIs and replacement routers, as I posted earlier I think). BTW also drew a blank in most cases when passed back to them for further diagnostics. It seems to me like there's been a change in the way Connect lines are being provisioned, as we never used to use fastpath. Majority of issues have been resolved by raising orders to set permission to use interleave. Perhaps the D-Links are flaky on fastpath.

    7. #16
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Amber Light.... AGAIN! "I don't believe it!"

      To clear any confusion it is VERY common that we see issues with dropping solid amber light (Loss of PPP session) on connect due to fastpath being applied to the circuit.

      Call CST they will need to raise an order for interleaving to be applied, will take 24hours.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION