Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    VOIP Quality Issues

    This is a discussion on VOIP Quality Issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am having quality issues using VOIP (Cisco softphone solution provided by my work, connecting over VPN). The issue is ...

    1. #1
      GaryK's Avatar
      GaryK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      VOIP Quality Issues

      I am having quality issues using VOIP (Cisco softphone solution provided by my work, connecting over VPN). The issue is that during a call, the line breaks up at times (bother when speaking and listening).

      It is not software issue - it works fine when in the office and I have also tested it when connected to my neighbour's Virgin BB.

      I'm wondering whether this type of issue would be caused by line errors - something that I have suffered from previously. SKy did restrict my speed to 4Mb which seemed to stop the errors. My router has the latest firmware, so I cant check the line errors myself and Sky BB support reckon that they aren't seeing any errors. I am getting a good speed (almost 4Mb) most of the time. The Level 1 support guy said that as fas as he is concerned, I am getting the speed, so there isn't a problem.

      Any thoughts / suggestions?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      Are you using wireless to connect to the router? if so, try a wire.

      Also, post your router stats:- How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      GaryK's Avatar
      GaryK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      Working wireless - will give wired a go in the morning and see how it is.
      Here;s my stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4608 kbps 864 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.0db 24.5db
      Noise Margin 17.1db 14.0db

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      Is the connection been used for anything else when calls are taken/made?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      There is a good chance that wireless is causing the problem. Changing the channel on the router may help.

      Have you made any attempt to find out where the interference on your line is coming from? eg, Have you plugged into the Test socket and tried a test from there? Your noise margin is ridiculously high, you should have almost double the speed you are getting.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      GaryK's Avatar
      GaryK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      The interference / line issues are external to the house. OpenReach have confirmed this, but are refusing to rectify due to costs invloved. As far as they are concerned, I have a BB connection (regardless of the speed / quality).
      The router is plugged directly into the test socket (this has been the case for the past 6 months!)
      Regaring the noise margin, I dont understand what the numbers mean or how to interpret them. Having said that, I can get a high speed (almost 8Mb), but as soon as I go above 4Mb, thousands upon thousands of line errors rack up as soon as the router connects. It is for this reason that Sky have limited my connection to 4Mb.

      There is no other activity when I am using VOIP - telephone is not being used and no other devices are using the wireless.

      I have a couple of VOIP calls scheduled for this afternoon, so I'll get my CAT5 out and coneect directly to the router.

    8. #7
      GaryK's Avatar
      GaryK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      Well, I'm on a VOIP call right now and so far, so good (plugged into the router instead of wireless).

      Obviously, being plugged into the router is not ideal, so maybe I will try changing the channel and see if that improves things. What I dont quite understand is how changing the channel can affect things. Could it be that there are other things interfering with the signal?

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      Quote Originally Posted by GaryK View Post
      The interference / line issues are external to the house. OpenReach have confirmed this, but are refusing to rectify due to costs invloved. As far as they are concerned, I have a BB connection (regardless of the speed / quality).
      Was an Openreach engineer actually booked to look at this fault? If the fault is on the Openreach network, then it's completely their responsibility to fix. An Openreach SFI visit would likely find the fault.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      Could it be that there are other things interfering with the signal?
      It is possible you have neighbours who are using a wireless network. If they are using the same channel as you, or even one near it, that can badly effect the wireless performance. Download Inssider from the link below and use it to discover the channels in use in your area. Set your channel to one as far from those in use as possible. Channel 13 is often a good bet if it is not in use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      GaryK's Avatar
      GaryK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VOIP Quality Issues

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Was an Openreach engineer actually booked to look at this fault? If the fault is on the Openreach network, then it's completely their responsibility to fix. An Openreach SFI visit would likely find the fault.
      The fault was diagnosed by OpenReach last year. I probably had at least 10 engineer visits (including 3 SFI visits). They initially diagnosed as issue with cable leading from cabinet to the house, dug up and replaced. Problem persisted.
      The last SFI I had said that there was also a fault with the alluminium cable feeding into the cabinet from another cabinet. However, he said it would be unlikely that OpenReach would fix it due to cost. I have also spoken to Sky about this who then spoke to OpenReach, but they will not replace. As far as they are concerned, I am receiving a BB service, so they dont need to do anything.

      The whole shananigans are documented in another thread on SkyUser.

      Does anyone know if OpenReach are contractually obliged to fix the 2nd cable? Or any advice on how to persuade them to fix the fault?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION